Short-Lived Hobbies are my Thing

Sewing, Knitting, Wood-carving, Figure-Drawing…

These are all things I’ve been into sometimes or another and then have let go of a bit (or a lot).
It’s typical for me to do a thing for a while and then move on to a new thing.

Lately, my mind has turned to foraging and, more specifically, mycology.

mushrooms - potter
It started about a month or so ago, when I was preparing for my first ever canoe-camping trip. I wanted to look up the edible foods of the region where Shawn and I were staying and I found a wonderful resource (which I forgot to bookmark and am now worried I’ll never find again) which showed imaged of the mushrooms as well as warnings for similarities to non-edible varieties, and information on their growing conditions, which gives clues for where to look.

And it continued when I successfully identified some mushrooms on a day-trip to Meech, but was still too nervous to do any picking.

And it has been compounded by the amount of money I’ve been spending on chanterelles lately.

AND THEN, I read this article about my favorite author/artist as a child, who was a mycologist herself and  produced illustrations which are still referred to now (she died in 1943) for identification purposes.

So this is my newest interest. I feel like I’ll do some self-guided learning until I’m comfortable enough to go on my own, or maybe I’ll find some kind of Mycology Master to go out a-foraging with.

On this day:

In 2012 – Back in my teenage internet days
In 2008 – Parent-blogging
In 2006 – Book taunt

Leave a Reply

