If it’s not said, it basically doesn’t exist to me.

It suddenly popped in my head the other day, and then was brought up again in conversation with Shawn, that I have a need for things to be said. I am SO BAD at interpreting cues and innuendo and hints.

Like, I get that if someone spends a lot of time with me, they probably like me, but unless they say things like “I like XYZ about you.” I am actually not so sure.

Or if someone is making eyes at me and being  bit physical in a non-specific way (like putting a hand on my shoulder) I could think they are just very attentive, or that they want to do me, or that they are just into that level of physical contact and nothing more, and so I would just respond in equal measure to their output, unless they indicate anything else.

This is probably why I just blurt out things like “Let’s put our mouths together into a kiss” or some other ridiculously awkward thing.

I’m probably missing out on connecting with lots of interesting people who are more into being subtle, or flirty, or mysterious. I just do not get how to be like that. I guess that’s something to work on.

How do I work on that?

On this day:

In 2008 – Further proof that I am a seahorse

Leave a Reply

