hogtown

I went to Toronto this weekend.

Meander

Meander


 

I lived in the suburbs of Toronto until I was 16. Up until then, I imagined that when I grew up, I would move to the city, or perhaps go to Montreal or a different country.

It’s weird, all my ideas for the future had nothing to do with concrete things like a job or a school program and everything to do with fostering certain feelings and connections.

Community of care

Community of care


 

Part of my trip was just such a perfect time of soul-bonding and sharing.

Part of my trip was incredibly frustrating.

Part of my trip was full of potential.

Part of my trip was really finally feeling like I’m an adult in control of my life and if I want to drive to Toronto with the sole reason of hanging out with a particular person for 3 minutes shy of 5 hours, I can do that. I can do anything I fucking want.

Light on the subway

Light on the subway


 

For the first time, I’ve started considering what my life would be like if I had not moved away at 16. There’s a certain personal confidence I feel when being in that city. I don’t feel it here in Ottawa and I think it has to do with population. I need to remember what it feels like and hold on to the parts that benefit me here.

Thinking this stuff over has illuminated the history of the anxieties I have, how I’ve worked toward overcoming them, what is within the realm of the possible, (and what is not) and how geography and culture is a bigger factor than I thought it was.

On this day:

In 2011 – extended leave
In 2007 – Morgan Freeman’s freckles
In 2006 – Conditioner and art projects

Leave a Reply

