The Hours of Summer

As of June first, I get to work 1 hour less per day that I normally do. It is the start of ‘Summer Hours’ at my work. Typically, I just leave an hour earlier! How great! But this year, I’m doing things a little bit differently.

I usually get up at 6 am on the days I have the kids and hurry through dressing and eating and leaving so I can get them where they need to be and then get to work on time so that I can work enough hours to be able to leave and pick them up on time.

Were I to leave an hour early, sure, I’d have that luxurious hour to do whatever I want between my work and school/daycare (or camp – depending on the time of summer) but a lot of that would just be idle, wasted time. This morning, I felt absolutely BRILLIANT. I could start work an hour later! I could sleep in an extra hour EVERY DAY! And when I have the kids (because they just wake up early anyway) we could take our time to eat and dress and bond in the mornings.

I feel super positive about this as a course of action. It’s been a LONG time since I’ve had regular, luxurious morning times and I think it will really do a lot to help nourish our family.

On this day:

In 2008 – The sexist roll-out of Gardasil
In 2007 – I had so much hair!
In 2006 – I’m pretty much over soy milk as a thing I want to ever ingest
In 2005 – A south-park version of me

Leave a Reply

