Truly a child of the 80’s

I was born in 1981. Crimped hair was cool for a while but I never partook in the more daring of the 80’s trends (I totally had a killer side ponytail one time, as well as hot pink bicycle shorts though). I’m kind of excited that I get to revisit the fashions of my youth once again, as I choose to.

I have been dreaming of having crimped hair for a couple of years now. I have been looking for a crimper at all the thrift-stores I entered and have always left crimper-less. After a Facebook plea, Paige was all about letting me have hers. I was super excited and Shawn went to pick it up for me on Friday, just in time for PromDEMONIUM. If an alt-prom doesn’t call from crimped hair, I don’t know what does.

On Saturday afternoon, I started trying it out. I wanted to see how long it would take to do my whole head (about 30 minutes, with Shawn’s help to do the back part, but I think I could do it all on my own with strategic mirror placement) and see how long my hair would hold the crimp.

BEFORE (this is not a real before photo – unless you count before as being about 3 months ago, it’s just how my hair usually is)

face

 

 

This is what it looked like immediately after, with no styling product at all. Talk about VOLUME TURNED TO 11

crimp1

 

 

So I went about my day, trying to avoid touching it. I thought I might have to re-crimp before going out, but I really didn’t. I went out and prommed it up and when I got back home at 2 am, it looked like this.


crimp2

 

 

I super loved the texture and sculptability of my hair. At some point I figured out that touching it didn’t uncrimp it at all. I slept for a few hours and when the kids got me up out of bed, my crimped hair was still kicking. (Also, I was very tired)

crimp3

 

 

 

I was worried that my hair would be super damaged, but really it was just one use. I rinsed out my hair and loaded up on conditioner and it’s back to it’s floppy smoothness. I feel like I would love to rock this hair super often but I also feel like it would be some kind of BIG EVENT if I walked into the office with crimped hair.

I wonder how else I can use this crimper to cool effect. Any ideas?

On this day:

In 2013 – that particular thing didn’t end up happening
In 2010 – was this possibly the last time I was in Montreal? Wow. Time to plan a road trip.
In 2008 – obviously big boobs is why women enjoy pregnancy… oh… wait…
In 2007 – vagina pie – so yum
In 2006 – hair colour and systemic racism (unrelated)

One Comment on “Truly a child of the 80’s”

  1. T says:

    LOVE IT!! I got sent home from work at the record store for krimped hair! it was like 1984 or some time around then. You should have seen their faces when I shaved my head clean! lol


Leave a Reply

