Growth Chart

Back in 2005 when I started at my job, we had a team-building day where we did Myers-Briggs tests. My result was INTJ where my preference for introversion was 16% over extroversion.

I just re-took the same test and my results are mostly the same in all areas except for one. Now I’m classified at ENTJ. I could tell there would be some kind of change as I was answering the questions. More than once I thought “Five years ago, my answer would have been different”.

ENTJ
Extravert(1%)  iNtuitive(12%)  Thinking(25%)  Judging(44%)
  • You have marginal or no preference of Extraversion over Introversion (1%)
  • You have slight preference of Intuition over Sensing (12%)
  • You have moderate preference of Thinking over Feeling (25%)
  • You have moderate preference of Judging over Perceiving (44%)

I’ve done so much work in the last 2 years to opening up and communicating my emotions that I have fundamentally changed some important ways in which I interact in the world.

And I feel great for it!

ENTJs have a natural tendency to marshall and direct. This may be expressed with the charm and finesse of a world leader or with the insensitivity of a cult leader. The ENTJ requires little encouragement to make a plan. One ENTJ put it this way… “I make these little plans that really don’t have any importance to anyone else, and then feel compelled to carry them out.” While “compelled” may not describe ENTJs as a group, nevertheless the bent to plan creatively and to make those plans reality is a common theme for NJ types.

ENTJs are often “larger than life” in describing their projects or proposals. This ability may be expressed as salesmanship, story-telling facility or stand-up comedy. In combination with the natural propensity for filibuster, our hero can make it very difficult for the customer to decline.

TRADEMARK: — “I’m really sorry you have to die.” (I realize this is an overstatement. However, most Fs and other gentle souls usually chuckle knowingly at this description.)

ENTJs are decisive. They see what needs to be done, and frequently assign roles to their fellows. Few other types can equal their ability to remain resolute in conflict, sending the valiant (and often leading the charge) into the mouth of hell. When challenged, the ENTJ may by reflex become argumentative. Alternatively (s)he may unleash an icy gaze that serves notice: the ENTJ is not one to be trifled with.

Since I’m only 1% more extroverted than introverted at the moment, the first paragraph doesn’t really ring true for me.

I’m just going to put the rest of the analysis that I feel is relatable down here for my own reference. I’d like to do this again every few years.

Extraverted Thinking

“Unequivocating” expresses the resoluteness of the ENTJ’s dominant function. Clarity of convictions endows these Thinkers with a knack for debate, or wanting knack, a penchant for argument. The light and heat generated by Thinking at the helm can be impressive; perhaps even overwhelming. Experience teaches many ENTJs that restraint may often be the better part of valor, lest one find oneself victorious but alone.

Introverted iNtuition

The auxiliary function explores the blueprints of archetypal patterns and equips Thinking with a fresh, dynamic sense of how things work. Improvising on the fly is something many ENTJs do very well. As Thinking’s subordinate, insights are of value only insofar as they further the Right, True Cause celebre. [n.b.: ENTJs are capable of living on a higher plane, if you will, and learning to value individuals even above their principles. The above dynamic suggests less individuation.]

ENTJs often find themselves in occupations that require good analytical and planning skills. ENTJs build successful careers in the areas requiring considerable organizational skills and intellectual efforts, presenting a challenge, and calling for creativity. They are greatly represented in technological and management consulting companies among engineers and developers, and among high- and mid-rank managers. They are also able to realize their potential in start-ups where they often fulfill management positions or take responsibility for the whole project.

source

On this day:

In 2008 – I don’t know any human carnivores
In 2006 – Best Friday Night Dinner EVER!

Leave a Reply

