Wearing my Grownup Costume

I think I have a pretty good face. I wear mascara and moisturizer daily. Also, I’m super into lip balm. I usually looks like this:

face

In high school I didn’t like my face as much. I wore foundation to “hide my zits” and wore lots of eye shadow and lip liner and lipstick and probably some face glitter. These were mostly major fails.

Foundation: People! I am riddled with freckles. They are PERFECT for hiding zits. Wearing foundation made my face appear bumpier because it was suddenly all one solid, unnatural, pallid colour. Also it made me break out even more since I’m sure my skin was suffocating.

Eye shadow: That was fine actually. I am just more lazy about it now. I rarely shape my brows and I have fine blonde hairs that catch powder up near the brows so I use it minimally and only directly on the lid. And if I want to do a full shadow, I’ll sugar my brows (like 4 times a year).

Lips: I would put on a lip liner and lipstick then go to school and the lipstick would be gone and the liner would still be there and my face looked weird but it seriously never occurred to me to bring the lipstick with me and to touch up during the day.

I kind of just realized that all this stuff wasn’t working for me and was causing me unhappiness and stress and so I went to my now-regular regime of mascara, moisturizer, lip-balm. It wasn’t until NYE when I was headed out that I borrowed my awesome room-mate’s lipstick and brought significant colour to my lips for the first time in years. My whole outfit was a bit costume like but I liked the look of my lips and decided I wanted to give it a go, now that I’m a bit wiser.

I picked up a nice red and have tried it a couple of times.

red

When I wear it, I feel like I’m playing dress-up as an adult. I feel like I have a bit of an altered persona in it, even though really, my interactions with people are just the same. I really like it, but I don’t like it for ALL DAY LONG. I don’t like worrying about how much has rubbed off on my coffee cup and it’s amazing how it gets all over the place when I eat. Maybe I could learn to be a more graceful consumer of edible goods.

I’ll keep it for when I feel like it. It’s nice to have options.

On this day:

In 2011 – birth plan
In 2010 – selling everything
In 2009 – The hunt for the perfect slippers – Now I just wear my extra boot liners.
In 2008 – My first belly-pic of my pregnancy with Bobby. It’s kinf of how my belly looks now…
In 2007 – Are you passionate?
In 2006 – Back before I had ever set foot in Venus Envy. Oh I love that place.
In 2005 – Still at the same place…

4 Comments on “Wearing my Grownup Costume”

  1. alyssa77x says:

    You have an AMAZING face. I feel much the same when I wear makeup, though. Like it’s not really me and it’s more of a costume or even a mask.

    • Tiana says:

      Thanks 🙂 I also have a sheer lipstick/gloss thing I use more frequently than lipstick but that I totally forgot about when I wrote this. It feels more like a balm and so more natural for me.

  2. I wore A LOT Of make-up every day for most days of my career. Now that I am employed I only do my old face about once a week.
    I think if you want to wear full-on lipstick sometimes but not worry and think about it, then buy good long wear stuff. That changed my life. It”s hard, cause it gets kinda dry.
    Also if you ever use lip liner, fill it in with the liner.

    I think you should do whatever you want with make-up, those are just tips to use if they help you with some of the concerns you listed here.


Leave a Reply

