Taking care.

Today I get to take care of my sister since she is having some (no big deal) surgery probably right this moment. It means we get to have a sleepover since, apparently, she needs to be monitored overnight because of the anesthesia.

I am happy to do this. My sister has taken care of me a whole lot over the course of my life and this is probably the first time I get to help her out in any meaningful kind of way.

I think it’s important to help the people who are important to you whenever you can. Everyone needs help now and then. I find that in the two weeks, specifically, I’ve had a large influx of people sharing their need of help with me. There was a time when I would have found this almost offensive and definitely overwhelming but I don’t now. The hard part, for me, is being able to find the time to help out the people who need it, in good and productive ways, and still be able to treat myself with care.

The not-hard-part is that all of these people are people that I like having in my life, so I don’t feel put-out or anything by helping them fulfill their needs. I guess I’m just worried that I won’t be able to do juggle it all. There are only so many hours in a day, right?

On this day:

In 2010 – and now I realize that I don’t know where it is. Cripes.
In 2008 – all unhappy things
In 2007 – puppy
In 2005 – listed

3 Comments on “Taking care.”

  1. I’ve been feeling the same lately, I just want to help everyone. There is a great satisfaction when you know that you can be there for friends and family and that they are better off because of you. ❤

  2. alyssacyr says:

    I am just leaving that phase where I was “offended and overwhelmed” by people wanting help. now, I am dying to help my loved ones, but worried that I’ve pushed people away by not being there for them before. not sure if that is fixable, but looking back on it, it’s very sad.


Leave a Reply

