Naming All The Emotions

I will talk about pretty much any experience I have lived with no problems. I feel like the facts of my life are, generally, an open book available for anyone to read. Look at this blog for instance. There is hardly a life event not touched upon.

But if you ask me what I’m feeling? If you want to know my desires? I am very guarded. Not only will I not have any idea how to vocalize these things to you, I likely have spent little time contemplating them myself. Why? Hmmm. There was a period in my life where I did reflect on the reason behind all this and I simply started to feel incredibly sad. I felt like there was not one person interested in my emotions anyway and the more I dwelled upon that, the more neglected and valueless I felt.

At that point I just decided that no one is going to pick me up, no one is responsible for how I feel except me, so why bother letting things that bring me down even take up space in my mind, and if I am being honest, in my (dark cold and icy) heart? So here I sit today, relatively stunted in the area of emotions language. Has it negatively impacted me? I don’t think so. I have a happy life and find much joy. I also have terrible moments. The issue here isn’t the ability to feel, but the ability to identify and communicate with ease, the feelings.

So now I need to figure shit out and why not start with a list of emotions. Maybe then I can more readily identify mine.

Affection
Aggravation
Anger
Anticipation
Anxiety
Astonishment
Comfortable
Contempt
Contentment
Courage
Dejection
Delight
Desire
Despair
Determination
Disappointment
Disgust
Distress
Eagerness
Elation
Enthrallment
Enthusiasm
Joy
Fear
Grief
Guilt
Hate
Happiness
Hope
Hostility
Humiliation
Interest
Irritation
Longing
Love
Melancholy
Misery
Pain
Panic
Pleasure
Pride
Rage
Regret
Relief
Remorse
Resentment
Sadness
Satisfaction
Shame
Sorrow
Spite
Surprise
Sympathy
Terror
Triumph
Wonder

Oh my. I’m tired of making this list and according to my google work, much more could me added. Do you think I missed something really important? Let me know! Hungry doesn’t count.

On this day:

In 2010 – when I can’t decide, I make the Internet do it for me
In 2007 – and now I’m reminded that our fridge is bare
In 2006 – relationship talk
In 2005 – I got angry and vengeful

Leave a Reply

