The Incident With the Bug

I don’t ever remember having taken a bath with one of my parents so I can only assume my father was nonchalantly taking a bath when I came into the room. Although I remember my mother being right behind me. Maybe she thought it would be funny, or maybe she was trying to stop me but didn’t make it in time. Maybe I was supposed to be taking my first bath with my father at age 5? Regardless, it was terrifying.

As far as I recall, I had never before seen a penis although I knew they were part of the difference between boys and girls.

There is was, just kind of… bobbing around… in the water…  I remember being taken aback and asking what it was. My mother said “It’s just his bug.”

Oh how INFINITELY worse that made it! Didn’t she know that BUGS were the worst thing in the world? AND THERE WAS ONE ATTACHED TO MY FATHER’S CROTCH!!! I’m sure this was the beginning of the end of idealizing my father.

When did you start to realize your parent’s weren’t perfect/infallible/made of rainbows?

On this day:

In 2010 – “You can’t make EVERYTHING from scratch can you?”
In 2009 – “Anyways that’s my story now you tell me, did he cat-nap her?”
In 2005 – “Even after the 4th time, it drives me insane!”

Leave a Reply

