nunya!

I always assume that people do not want kids and are not trying to get pregnant unless they tell me otherwise.  I guess this is why I got so offended when people would ask me about my spawning plans.  How is that any of YOUR business??? If you were close enough to me that I would want you to know, I would have told you!

On the behalf of everyone who isn’t currently pregnant, I’m annoyed.

On this day:

In 2010 –
In 2009 –
In 2008 – a lesson from a high school teacher
In 2007 –
In 2006 – weird stuff
In 2005 – first day of work

14 Comments on “nunya!”

  1. superfrayed says:

    Thanks!
    I went to a party on Friday night and was asked about 10x when I would ‘start my family’ because now that I’m nearing 30 time is ‘running out’.

  2. superfrayed says:

    Thanks!
    I went to a party on Friday night and was asked about 10x when I would ‘start my family’ because now that I’m nearing 30 time is ‘running out’.

  3. trinity3x says:

    As someone who is nearly 30, married nearly four years, is not nor trying to get pregnant and is tired of hearing about it: thank you. Thank you so, so much.

  4. trinity3x says:

    As someone who is nearly 30, married nearly four years, is not nor trying to get pregnant and is tired of hearing about it: thank you. Thank you so, so much.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Really? I think technically speaking, nothing is anyone else’s business, whether it’s your preferences for the other sex or ice cream flavours. There are just some things that are more socially acceptable to ask about. I’d say that spawning plans aren’t a private thing to most people.
    However, if a judgment is added, like superfrayed and trinity3x mention about how other people assume you want to or should have kids, then you have every right to be annoyed. Is that what you meant? Do people ask you whether or not you’re going to have more kids, or do they ask you how many more you’re going to have as if they already know what you’ve decided based on what others do?

    • tianadargent says:

      I think that judgment is rarely added when asking men about having children but it is often added when women are asked. I say this from experiencing it first hand as well as the whole ‘talking behind the backs’ that women often partake in.
      I group it with the questions that aren’t really questions but more judgments (depending on the context of who they come from and when, of course) such as: When are you getting married? Are you going to rent forever? etc.

    • tianadargent says:

      I think that judgment is rarely added when asking men about having children but it is often added when women are asked. I say this from experiencing it first hand as well as the whole ‘talking behind the backs’ that women often partake in.
      I group it with the questions that aren’t really questions but more judgments (depending on the context of who they come from and when, of course) such as: When are you getting married? Are you going to rent forever? etc.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Really? I think technically speaking, nothing is anyone else’s business, whether it’s your preferences for the other sex or ice cream flavours. There are just some things that are more socially acceptable to ask about. I’d say that spawning plans aren’t a private thing to most people.
    However, if a judgment is added, like superfrayed and trinity3x mention about how other people assume you want to or should have kids, then you have every right to be annoyed. Is that what you meant? Do people ask you whether or not you’re going to have more kids, or do they ask you how many more you’re going to have as if they already know what you’ve decided based on what others do?

  7. Word. May I also add that it is totally lame that a woman with a male sex partner can’t feel under the weather without people asking if she’s pregnant?

  8. Word. May I also add that it is totally lame that a woman with a male sex partner can’t feel under the weather without people asking if she’s pregnant?

  9. vonandmoggy says:

    As a very long-married woman who recently had a medically necessary hysterectomy…thank you. I’m so very tired of people handing me their babies and suggesting the cute little things will get my biological clock ticking. I wish people would think before they speak.

  10. vonandmoggy says:

    As a very long-married woman who recently had a medically necessary hysterectomy…thank you. I’m so very tired of people handing me their babies and suggesting the cute little things will get my biological clock ticking. I wish people would think before they speak.


Leave a Reply

