The Great Freezer Project

Yesterday was the 2 month’s ’till Molly is ‘scheduled’ to come mark. It was eventful!

I was at work sitting in my desk chair and was just getting dizzier and dizzier. It got to the point where I thought I was going to faint so a coworker walked me down the the clinic to get checked out. My blood pressure and glucose levels checked out normal but the doctor detected a faint heart murmur which is unrelated to the dizzyness so I have to get an ultrasound down to check on my heart. I’m not concerned. I got sent home for the dizziness with a 2-day note and was told to come back on Monday if things were the same or worse. So there is a POSSIBILITY that I will be off on medical leave for a while since apparently the possibility of a pregnant woman passing out all over the place at work is not so good.

So I’m home now lying on the couch, surfing the web, watching movies and folding laundry.  I could probably do some work from home but I’m not set up for it.

This has gotten me to thinking of something that I was only going to tackle in the couple of weeks before my mat leave; premade meals in my deep freeze. Right now i’s totally empty. It was left here when we moved in and I want to fill it with healthy things that will make life easier for when I have a little baby to stare at all day. I want to have a good variety. Making pasta dishes is easy, but I don’t want ONLY that so here is what I have in mind so far;

  • Penne with mushrooms and zucchini in a sauce made of mostly roasted red pepper, tomatoes and garlic
  • Banana muffins
  • A variety of fruit filled waffles
  • Vegetarian lasagna
  • Burritos
  • Quiches

Any other ideas/recipes???On this day:

In 2010 –
In 2009 –
In 2008 – I never got those paintings back. When I asked he said he threw them out because he wasn’t a storage shed and later said he had them all along and I just threw my hands p over the insanity.
In 2007 – Kitty shots
In 2006 – mind reading
In 2005 – I was making plans for my new job

24 Comments on “The Great Freezer Project”

  1. metahara says:

    when you freeze the pasta dish- keep the ingredients in separate ziplocks.
    Spanikopita
    Corn Bread
    Soup
    Quiche
    Pie
    Stock (veg or chick, etc)
    Marinara

  2. metahara says:

    when you freeze the pasta dish- keep the ingredients in separate ziplocks.
    Spanikopita
    Corn Bread
    Soup
    Quiche
    Pie
    Stock (veg or chick, etc)
    Marinara

  3. corto says:

    I hope all turns out well with the heart murm… and with the dizzy. You’ve got enough to worry about without other crap piling-on. 😦
    And… I recommend making pizza. home-made crust, sauce and cheese. do you grok making pizza dough?

  4. corto says:

    I hope all turns out well with the heart murm… and with the dizzy. You’ve got enough to worry about without other crap piling-on. 😦
    And… I recommend making pizza. home-made crust, sauce and cheese. do you grok making pizza dough?

  5. sourdick says:

    You can freeze pasta?!

  6. sourdick says:

    You can freeze pasta?!

  7. asimplelife says:

    I am assuming you are vegetarian?
    Curry with rice (already made and frozen together)
    Stir Fry
    Pot pies
    Vegetable stew or a ratatouille
    Vegetarian pea soup
    Chili
    I also do burritos with refried beans and cheese. Loblaws also sells them for about $1.20 eat if you don’t feel like cooking them!
    Perogies are always handy to have in the freezer, as is frozen ravioli (I buy huge boxes of these at Costco). The costco 4-cheese pizza is delicious and is only about $4 a pizza as well.
    I have to do this sometime next week as well because Nick is off on business at the end of the month. When I worked full time I used to make a lot of the things off your list and then just keep a big bag of spring mix & cut up veggies in the fridge. In the morning I would grab something from the freezer and then just throw some greens and dressing in my salad blaster or if it was soup or stew I would add cheese and crackers or bread.

    • tianadargent says:

      I’m normally vegetarian but this baby apparently likes meat? I’ve been craving steak of all things all day! And I’ve also been eating poultry and bacon recently.
      oh Pot pies and curries are a great idea!!!
      I found some old perogies in the freezer today and made them for lunch and then cried because they were freezer burned and terrible! I need to get more! I LOVE the ones they have in the freezer at the Sausage Kitchen in the market.

    • tianadargent says:

      I’m normally vegetarian but this baby apparently likes meat? I’ve been craving steak of all things all day! And I’ve also been eating poultry and bacon recently.
      oh Pot pies and curries are a great idea!!!
      I found some old perogies in the freezer today and made them for lunch and then cried because they were freezer burned and terrible! I need to get more! I LOVE the ones they have in the freezer at the Sausage Kitchen in the market.

  8. asimplelife says:

    I am assuming you are vegetarian?
    Curry with rice (already made and frozen together)
    Stir Fry
    Pot pies
    Vegetable stew or a ratatouille
    Vegetarian pea soup
    Chili
    I also do burritos with refried beans and cheese. Loblaws also sells them for about $1.20 eat if you don’t feel like cooking them!
    Perogies are always handy to have in the freezer, as is frozen ravioli (I buy huge boxes of these at Costco). The costco 4-cheese pizza is delicious and is only about $4 a pizza as well.
    I have to do this sometime next week as well because Nick is off on business at the end of the month. When I worked full time I used to make a lot of the things off your list and then just keep a big bag of spring mix & cut up veggies in the fridge. In the morning I would grab something from the freezer and then just throw some greens and dressing in my salad blaster or if it was soup or stew I would add cheese and crackers or bread.

  9. Anonymous says:

    I use foodgawker.com for a ton of recipe ideas.
    I know this looks like spam..but it’s not. I really love your blog.

  10. Anonymous says:

    I use foodgawker.com for a ton of recipe ideas.
    I know this looks like spam..but it’s not. I really love your blog.

  11. Anonymous says:

    Another idea
    I’ve used a great book called “The Big Cook” by Siemens, Thomas and Smith. You get together with friends and pre-cut ingredients (obviously pre-planned) and assemble meals for your freezer. Better with a big group but did it one weekend with one girlfriend and ended up with 22 ready to bake/slow cook/bbq meals! Healthy too. GinaC

  12. Anonymous says:

    Another idea
    I’ve used a great book called “The Big Cook” by Siemens, Thomas and Smith. You get together with friends and pre-cut ingredients (obviously pre-planned) and assemble meals for your freezer. Better with a big group but did it one weekend with one girlfriend and ended up with 22 ready to bake/slow cook/bbq meals! Healthy too. GinaC


Leave a Reply

