Bobby 2 years 6 months

Lately, Bobby has taken to telling stories. Sometimes they are real sometimes they are imaginary, sometimes a mix of both. Sometimes they are about how a giant inflatable Santa drives babies to the hospital when they are ready to be born. Usually it’s making up little scenarios for his toys or food or whatever he’s holding at the time.

Saucing some naan pizza

Saucing some naan pizzas

Zucchini taste test

Taste Test

Sneaky Banana Monster

Sneaky Banana Monster

Bobby has become much more self-sufficient lately. He gets his own snacks from the counter (fruits) or cupboard (crackers etc), brushes his own teeth, put on his own boots etc. It very nice to see that kind of progression. He also has become more adept at negotiating for what he wants using "not yet" or "just for a minute" or "I need… something… a hug?".  He knows the ropes when he’s in trouble "I will go in time out until I’m ready to say sorry. Then, I will say sorry and it’s time for a bath"

Working hard, watering his toys.

Working hard at getting clean

The waves in the sea

There was a bit of a biting incident going on at his daycare for awhile. Bobby was being bitten by another boy there. It seems like I SHOULD have been really upset about it by the way everyone else was reacting to it (the other kids parents, etc) but I was honestly surprised that this kind of thing doesn’t happen more often. He got bit twice and that’s it. It’s not like he’s traumatized although I’m sure it hurt at the time. He refers to the boy that did it as his ‘good friend’. I guess he didn’t take it personally.

Showing off a cookie gifted from naughty_bride

Showing off a cookie from Angela

Hiding in a box

Hiding in a box

Bobby has been super into babies lately. I’m going with it so that he welcomes Molly easily. He gives her hugs and kisses and talks to her through my belly button. He is fascinated when he sees little babies on TV or in real life.  He wants to be held like a baby at least once a day. We indulge him for a few minutes and then encourage him to grow back into Big Boy Bobby. 

This morphs into other kinds of pretend play. Based on a show he watched, he now pretends that he’s the World’s Greatest Detective and he goes around declaring "A-ha!" and "Mysterious… Very mysterious…"

Working on Daddy’s xmas gift

Workin on an x-ms gift for daddy

Wearing Mommy’s bra

Trying on mommy's bra

Jingle Bells

Oh Canada – Abridged

On this day;

In 2009 – Bobby is one and a half
In 2008 – Bobby is 6 months old
In 2007 – I could go for some springrolls right about now
In 2006 – Back when I still ate exploded duck/goose liver
In 2005 – Back when I had no idea how to spell vinegar

16 Comments on “Bobby 2 years 6 months”

  1. photogfrog says:

    Oh he is so adorable!!

  2. photogfrog says:

    Oh he is so adorable!!

  3. metahara says:

    I thoroughly enjoy seeing the work of a good parent documented! Especially when it involves such an adorable child~

  4. metahara says:

    I thoroughly enjoy seeing the work of a good parent documented! Especially when it involves such an adorable child~

  5. trinity3x says:

    Last year, I went to an art studio to put together some bowls for our kitchen. There was a young couple there with a small child who was working on a project of his own. They kept screaming at him, correcting him, telling him things couldn’t be certain colors. It was all I could do to keep my mouth shut.
    This post was the antithesis of that. I love how you’re encouraging him to find out about things and who he is through them. Way to go, mama! You’re definitely my inspiration for how parenthood should be.

    • tianadargent says:

      Thanks it’s really nice to have such positive feedback πŸ™‚
      I really wanted to go to one of those places where you can paint mugs and stuff so Bobby could do some as x-mas gifts for relatives but I thought about it too late and they wouldn’t have been ready in time. He would have such a blast!
      I admit that I only offered him colours that I wanted him to use, but he doesn’t know that πŸ˜‰

    • tianadargent says:

      Thanks it’s really nice to have such positive feedback πŸ™‚
      I really wanted to go to one of those places where you can paint mugs and stuff so Bobby could do some as x-mas gifts for relatives but I thought about it too late and they wouldn’t have been ready in time. He would have such a blast!
      I admit that I only offered him colours that I wanted him to use, but he doesn’t know that πŸ˜‰

  6. trinity3x says:

    Last year, I went to an art studio to put together some bowls for our kitchen. There was a young couple there with a small child who was working on a project of his own. They kept screaming at him, correcting him, telling him things couldn’t be certain colors. It was all I could do to keep my mouth shut.
    This post was the antithesis of that. I love how you’re encouraging him to find out about things and who he is through them. Way to go, mama! You’re definitely my inspiration for how parenthood should be.

  7. Bobby posts are the best!!!!

  8. Bobby posts are the best!!!!

  9. mysterious, very mysterious
    ha ha awww how cute!

  10. mysterious, very mysterious
    ha ha awww how cute!


Leave a Reply

