A Very Santa Weekend – kind of ranty

This is 95% a cut and paste of the email I sent Angela this morning.

This weekend, we did the whole Santa thing.

SATURDAY:

We went to the (horribly too long) Santa parade in Orleans. Half the "floats" were vans for businesses with a couple of lights glued on. What the hell is that? It was a waste of time to see those drive by. Nobody cared about seeing them at all and aside from the Garlic King, I’m not amused. I can think of a few real estate agents, or people running for local government who are on my black list now. 

Brent and I were freezing and Bobby insanely loved it. He said his favorite thing was the fire truck. Which was the first thing in the parade. So we could have left after that and not been asshole parents right? After Santa went by, there was a long line of traffic behind the parade but Bobby thought it was more parade and didn’t want to leave. Maybe if all those mini vans with business names on them didn’t try to pass themselves off as floats, my 2 year old wouldn’t have thought normal traffic was a parade.

SUNDAY

We did Santa at the mall. We got there a couple of minutes before Santa and there was already a line ahead of us. Then when Santa walked by to go up the stairs he took the time to give every kid a high five and a "tank you for coming"  I think this was great because it probably helps ease the tension for kids getting all worked up to meet him as they get closer to the front of the line.

There was a family with 3 boys right in front of us and they were very badly behaved. Climbing all over the stage, bumping into the little kids around them because they just couldn’t come even close to sitting still and tearing kid’s letters to Santa off the gate! The douche dad kept WHINING "if you do that one more time, we’re going home! I MEAN it!" I was WISHING they would go home. They did not. Which is obviously why these kids are assholes. Way to follow through parents!  Seriously there were at least 30 kids in line and they all managed not to hurt little kids or rip things up.

All to say, Bobby gave Santa a big hug and loved talking with him. Liked sitting on his lap but made a really weird face when the photographers asked him to smile and shook an Elmo doll around. He just looked at them like "What the hell are you doing???" I would have preferred the profile shot of him actually talking to Santa.

Then we 75% decorated our house. I realized we have a LOT of glass ornaments and that Bobby thinks they are "so beautiful" so they will probably all get demolished. Maybe not. He’s actually pretty good and careful about things.  I would pass him one out of the box and he and Brent would hang it together. Or he would pass Brent the ones for up high.

Decorating the tree

On this day:

In 2009 – I’m still in love with that Sondre Lerche song!
In 2008 –
In 2007 –
In 2006 – FYI that gourmet store is closed
In 2005 – I’m actually one of the most responsible people within 3 feet of here

8 Comments on “A Very Santa Weekend – kind of ranty”

  1. thebookpile says:

    We thought about going to the Orleans Santa Claus parade. Reading this, I’m glad we didn’t.
    I can’t remember if I’ve asked you this yet, so: What are your thoughts on the new roundabout?

  2. thebookpile says:

    We thought about going to the Orleans Santa Claus parade. Reading this, I’m glad we didn’t.
    I can’t remember if I’ve asked you this yet, so: What are your thoughts on the new roundabout?

  3. asimplelife says:

    He did really well with Santa! I am kind of leery of hitting up Santa this year considering how Lily did not like him last year. Corinne also has some super separation anxiety so I anticipate an epic fit in the mall.
    I wonder how the other Christmas parades went? I was initially bummed that we missed the one downtown but I wonder if it was just a longer line of crappy ads? I hate feeling like I am a captive audience for adverts and I think it’s doubly annoying when it’s an event aimed at kids. I’d pretty much write off those business as well.

  4. asimplelife says:

    He did really well with Santa! I am kind of leery of hitting up Santa this year considering how Lily did not like him last year. Corinne also has some super separation anxiety so I anticipate an epic fit in the mall.
    I wonder how the other Christmas parades went? I was initially bummed that we missed the one downtown but I wonder if it was just a longer line of crappy ads? I hate feeling like I am a captive audience for adverts and I think it’s doubly annoying when it’s an event aimed at kids. I’d pretty much write off those business as well.


Leave a Reply

