There are a few people that I’ve developed what I think are fairly quality friendships with online. There’s a select bunch that I often think I would have become instant best friends with had I met them in real life. Some of these people even live in the same town as me.

I’m kind of scared to actually meet them.

What if it’s super awkward? Am I supposed to act like I know all the things I know about this person or do I need to let that develop at it’s own pace? What if I misjudged this connection and we really don’t get along at all? Do I want to risk a good online bond?

What is your experience with this?

On this day:

In 2009 –
In 2008 – Bobby 5 months minus one day
In 2007 – How people DIDN’T guess I was pregnant from this post I will never understand.
In 2006 – Then and now – 10 (now 14) years ago
In 2005 – hmmm… I wonder what happened?

14 Comments on “”

  1. momomoto says:

    I’ve had pretty good luck with online friends becoming IRL friends. Heck, even Ottawa Foodies has been really good for that.
    There is a bit of that “super awkward” bit at first, but that can often happen with people you haven’t been stalking on-line for ages, too 😉
    What’s worked for me in the past is to mostly let things develop at their own pace. It isn’t as severe as pretending that you don’t know anything about them at all; rather, it’s letting them choose what to disclose and what to keep to themselves. A lot of people have on-line personas that are far different from their face-to-face personas, so it takes a bit of judging to figure out how people work.
    Does that make sense? I could probably explain it better but it’s so early in the morning and I really should be preparing for my trip to Beau’s 😉

  2. momomoto says:

    I’ve had pretty good luck with online friends becoming IRL friends. Heck, even Ottawa Foodies has been really good for that.
    There is a bit of that “super awkward” bit at first, but that can often happen with people you haven’t been stalking on-line for ages, too 😉
    What’s worked for me in the past is to mostly let things develop at their own pace. It isn’t as severe as pretending that you don’t know anything about them at all; rather, it’s letting them choose what to disclose and what to keep to themselves. A lot of people have on-line personas that are far different from their face-to-face personas, so it takes a bit of judging to figure out how people work.
    Does that make sense? I could probably explain it better but it’s so early in the morning and I really should be preparing for my trip to Beau’s 😉

  3. I have lots of good internet friends I would love to meet! there is one in particular who prolly would have become a real-life friend had I stayed in Ontario. I have met her for lunch/dinner several times. I think it could have been awkward if not for our mutually awesome senses of humour.

  4. I have lots of good internet friends I would love to meet! there is one in particular who prolly would have become a real-life friend had I stayed in Ontario. I have met her for lunch/dinner several times. I think it could have been awkward if not for our mutually awesome senses of humour.

  5. lyndszy says:

    I think when I first started meeting online people, I was pretty naive and thought everyone would be cool in person, but they weren’t. Now I find the few people I have met online have been quality because I talked to them so much beforehand. One good example of this is Diana (missmodular)…I actually was afraid to meet her and we both put off meeting despite living 5 mins from eachother. Once we met we were bff right from the start. If it sucks, you can always ignore them ;p

  6. lyndszy says:

    I think when I first started meeting online people, I was pretty naive and thought everyone would be cool in person, but they weren’t. Now I find the few people I have met online have been quality because I talked to them so much beforehand. One good example of this is Diana (missmodular)…I actually was afraid to meet her and we both put off meeting despite living 5 mins from eachother. Once we met we were bff right from the start. If it sucks, you can always ignore them ;p

  7. utsi says:

    i find that any new friendship has to develop at its own pace. yet to actually meet some of the folks i would like to, but i know that a few have gone from online, to phone calls to chat. but i am reminded of the penpals of my youth. some were positive expereinces, some not…

  8. utsi says:

    i find that any new friendship has to develop at its own pace. yet to actually meet some of the folks i would like to, but i know that a few have gone from online, to phone calls to chat. but i am reminded of the penpals of my youth. some were positive expereinces, some not…

  9. metahara says:

    I had a really good experience meeting an LJ friend in person.

  10. metahara says:

    I had a really good experience meeting an LJ friend in person.

  11. Well I met my husband online so that was a good one..lol
    Now I resently ment Emily from Barrhave as she came over to pick up boys clothes from me. Us stay at home low to no income mom’s have to stick together and keep the hand me downs going! She seemed nice but the kids were going ape so I could not really chat with her. Such as life! She is making Suzie a hat though and will be back for more clothes soon.

  12. Well I met my husband online so that was a good one..lol
    Now I resently ment Emily from Barrhave as she came over to pick up boys clothes from me. Us stay at home low to no income mom’s have to stick together and keep the hand me downs going! She seemed nice but the kids were going ape so I could not really chat with her. Such as life! She is making Suzie a hat though and will be back for more clothes soon.


Leave a Reply

