On the path to Perpetual Happy

I don’t even remember when, but some time ago I signed up as part of The Happiness Project.  I just got an email reminding me about it today. Then later as I was browsing my feeds I saw that Andrea over at The Fishbowl had made a related post about her 12 commandments.

This is just what I need in my life right now. We are about to move and welcome a new baby and I’m about to turn 30 and I’ve been looking at the next 4 months as a cleansing period. I hope to come out of it more myself and clear on what I want and how to get it and how to sit comfortably within that.

So what’s the idea here?
You make a list of "Commandments" for yourself. They are meant to be daily reminders to guide you in your interactions and help you have a happy fulfilling life. Not a "to-do" list or a "do not do" list per-se.

Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

  1. create
  2. bring joy
  3. don’t keep score
  4. do things that matter
  5. go outside
  6. be present
  7. be positive within negative interactions
  8. share
  9. be tidy
  10. pay attention to synchronicities
  11. fight for what is right
  12. ???

What’s on your list?

On this day:

In 2009 – I still love piano in modern music. Anything new I should be aware of?
In 2008 –
In 2007 –
In 2006 – recapping parts of our wedding
In 2005 – dangerous mistakes

4 Comments on “On the path to Perpetual Happy”

  1. thebookpile says:

    I came up with something similar last June, a sort of list of broad objectives for myself. I haven’t made very much progress yet.

  2. thebookpile says:

    I came up with something similar last June, a sort of list of broad objectives for myself. I haven’t made very much progress yet.

  3. metahara says:

    hmmmm let’s see….
    1) Come from love
    2) Accept and generate peace
    3) Listen
    4) When feeling alone, remember all one
    5) Remember nothing is wasted, it is all learning. In other words, see the grace in everything.
    6) When in doubt, know, I love being alive and all that comes with that.
    7) Accept the past and make room for the future by being in the now
    8) Let go
    9) Be so bold as to fulfill your purpose

  4. metahara says:

    hmmmm let’s see….
    1) Come from love
    2) Accept and generate peace
    3) Listen
    4) When feeling alone, remember all one
    5) Remember nothing is wasted, it is all learning. In other words, see the grace in everything.
    6) When in doubt, know, I love being alive and all that comes with that.
    7) Accept the past and make room for the future by being in the now
    8) Let go
    9) Be so bold as to fulfill your purpose


Leave a Reply

