Allow me to bitch about herpes

I have herpes ON MY FACE!  I blame my mother who I clearly recall sharing glasses of milk with at the age of 4 or less while she had cold sores.

Coldsores aka oral herpes are THE WORST.  Actually, genital herpes are probably worse but thank god I don’t really know for sure.

So i have a pretty small cold sore right in the middle of my bottom lip but it fucking kills. It feel like I was punched in the lip and it exploded open and the slightest breeze makes my nerves sizzle in pain.

Things that hurt:

  • air
  • wearing chapstick
  • not wearing chapstick
  • smiling
  • drinking when not using a straw
  • smacking your lip on your fork

I’m not looking for remedies. I’ve been dealing with this my entire life (THANKS MOM!) so I know what to do/not do. Bitching is the only thing that makes it better.

On this day:

In 2009 – nail biting
In 2008 –
In 2007 – tomato leg
In 2006 – vagina tricks
In 2005 – a new love

10 Comments on “Allow me to bitch about herpes”

  1. metahara says:

    gripe on woman, gripe on!
    I’m stealing this
    “I’m not looking for remedies. I’ve been dealing with this my entire life so I know what to do/not do. Bitching is the only thing that makes it better.”

  2. metahara says:

    gripe on woman, gripe on!
    I’m stealing this
    “I’m not looking for remedies. I’ve been dealing with this my entire life so I know what to do/not do. Bitching is the only thing that makes it better.”

  3. photogfrog says:

    I feel your pain to the nth degree.

  4. photogfrog says:

    I feel your pain to the nth degree.

  5. Anonymous says:

    I used to get cold sores up until I started using Carmex daily, sure it is not a natural lip product but I have been without cold sores for ten years since using it. Good luck — oh and it is incredible cheap which is nice.

  6. Anonymous says:

    I used to get cold sores up until I started using Carmex daily, sure it is not a natural lip product but I have been without cold sores for ten years since using it. Good luck — oh and it is incredible cheap which is nice.

  7. Anonymous says:

    I used to get them terribly from about 5 to about 34. I was having one or two serious outbreaks a month, and so the dr put me on a drug called Valtrex daily. That pretty much took them away. No more worrying about tingles.
    I had to go off it after a couple of years, because they don’t know the long term effects, but I’ve only had one tiny one that lasted a couple of days since I went off in May, so it seems to have permanently changed how my body deals with the virus.
    Even if your doctor won’t prescribe them as prophylaxis, you can take them when you get an outbreak, which cuts the outbreak time in half for me, and also majorly cuts down on the severity.
    Ah, though you probably can’t take it while pregnant or breastfeeding! But a thought for after.

  8. Anonymous says:

    I used to get them terribly from about 5 to about 34. I was having one or two serious outbreaks a month, and so the dr put me on a drug called Valtrex daily. That pretty much took them away. No more worrying about tingles.
    I had to go off it after a couple of years, because they don’t know the long term effects, but I’ve only had one tiny one that lasted a couple of days since I went off in May, so it seems to have permanently changed how my body deals with the virus.
    Even if your doctor won’t prescribe them as prophylaxis, you can take them when you get an outbreak, which cuts the outbreak time in half for me, and also majorly cuts down on the severity.
    Ah, though you probably can’t take it while pregnant or breastfeeding! But a thought for after.

  9. I usually get them about once a year, at times of extreme stress or low immune system (ie. if I haven’t eaten properly and only slept 2 hours a night for a week straight).
    last time I got them was just before a date with Inness, who apparently didn’t realize that cold sores and herpes were the same thing. it was the most awkward day of my life.

  10. I usually get them about once a year, at times of extreme stress or low immune system (ie. if I haven’t eaten properly and only slept 2 hours a night for a week straight).
    last time I got them was just before a date with Inness, who apparently didn’t realize that cold sores and herpes were the same thing. it was the most awkward day of my life.


Leave a Reply

