Fall is the BEST season!

So we sold our house for really sure this week. FAB!  Our closing date is Nov 19th which really sucks because that only really gives us 4 days with our new house being empty. I wanted about 2 weeks so it could be all painted and mostly furnished before we moved in.

Now comes the parts that I find fun:

1-purging
2-making floor plans of the new house
3-making finish and furniture plans, possibly even elevations

The crap part about that is that I now have a mac and even though it is SUPER awesome, the drafting software that I know how to use (AutoCAD) is not available and I’m not interested in running it off one of those  parallel drives. What a pain! I’m going to give Google Sketchup a try. I’m installing it right now and I hope it’s actually accurate and precise because otherwise… my eyes might bulge.

_____

In other news, things are picking up work-wise. One of the designers is away on long-term leave and we are also a little understaffed so I’m taking this opportunity to take on new kinds of work to try and advance myself into something that will be more fulfilling long term than what I am doing now.  So far I’m having fun because it’s all new (ish. It’s stuff I’ve done in other jobs and in school but that I haven’t done in some time) but I’m sure that eventually it would get annoying just like any job.

_____

Today is the perfect day for a nature walk! Gatineau seems a little far for a pre-nap walk. Any recommended trails? Pref. int he east end.

On this day:

In 2009 –
In 2008 –
In 2007 –
In 2006 – oh carbonara… I love you
In 2005 – That is no longer my biggest fear

10 Comments on “Fall is the BEST season!”

  1. superfrayed says:

    Congrats on selling the house!
    Are you looking for a long or short trail? Ienjoy the one by my house, it goes all behind the springridge development (off trim)so on the left you have the houses and on the right you have Cardinal Creek.
    The only other one I know of in the area is by North Service Road by Petrie Island, but I haven’t been down by there in a long time and whith all of the construction I’m not sure if there’s still even trails.

  2. superfrayed says:

    Congrats on selling the house!
    Are you looking for a long or short trail? Ienjoy the one by my house, it goes all behind the springridge development (off trim)so on the left you have the houses and on the right you have Cardinal Creek.
    The only other one I know of in the area is by North Service Road by Petrie Island, but I haven’t been down by there in a long time and whith all of the construction I’m not sure if there’s still even trails.

  3. momomoto says:

    AutoCAD is supposed to be coming back to OS X “this fall”, but that could mean any time between now and summer 2011 😉
    (Link)
    Anyway, it’s nice to see that they’re finally coming back to the Mac platform, given how many designer-type people use Macs for their work. Now if only SolidWorks would do the same; that’s another piece of software that’s supposed to be getting an OS X version any time now.

  4. momomoto says:

    AutoCAD is supposed to be coming back to OS X “this fall”, but that could mean any time between now and summer 2011 😉
    (Link)
    Anyway, it’s nice to see that they’re finally coming back to the Mac platform, given how many designer-type people use Macs for their work. Now if only SolidWorks would do the same; that’s another piece of software that’s supposed to be getting an OS X version any time now.

  5. corto says:

    🙂
    Congrats on the house sale! !!
    I’ve heard good things about sketchup…
    I think that idea that it’s simply always
    available is a big plus.
    changing a design at a client site … becomes possible.

  6. corto says:

    🙂
    Congrats on the house sale! !!
    I’ve heard good things about sketchup…
    I think that idea that it’s simply always
    available is a big plus.
    changing a design at a client site … becomes possible.


Leave a Reply

