Food Revolution Friday #8 COOKIES

My son isn’t the hugest cookie fan.  He likes them but he generally doesn’t have much of a sweet tooth.  Last night my husband and I both wanted some baked treats (see this entry to find out why). 

Bobby has helped me make cookies once before but lately I’ve pledged to myself to get him helping in the kitchen as much as possible so I gave him much more responsibility this time.  His jobs included:

  • fetching things from the pantry (the stuff he could reach/could carry)
  • washing his hands
  • dumping in ALL the measured amounts (I pre-measured before bringing him into the kitchen to help me because I didn’t want him to be bored while I did it, or feel like he wasn’t allowed to do everything himself)
  • mixing everything together (I just did the finishing touched)
  • squishing the dough balls down onto the cookie sheet

It was very fun. I told him what all the ingredients were as we went "Now we mix in the flour…" and he would repeat it and tell me we would eat them after they come out of the oven.

Regarding oven safety.  We have a rule in our house that if Bobby is in the kitchen when adults are opening the oven, he has to have his hand on the fridge. This keeps him far enough away that he doesn’t get heat-blasted and we have room to pull things out and maneuver around without worrying about him getting underfoot and possibly having hot stuff dropped on him.  Once it’s closed, we turn on the oven light and he watches the cooking magic through the door.

He ate TWO cookies! I am surprised because last time he only ate half of one (same recipe).  He was very proud of all his work and this morning he woke up talking about how we made cookies last night.

The recipe ( adapted from Vive le vegan! )

1C unbleached all purpose flour
1 t baking powder
1/2 t baking soda
1/4C brown sugar (next time I’m going to use maple sugar since I have a bunch)
1/4 t sea salt
1/3 C MAPLE syrup (not TABLE syrup)
1/4 t black strap molasses
1t vanilla extract
1/4-1/3 C olive oil
1/3 C chocolate chips
1/2 T cinnamon

The recipe calls for mixing things in separate bowls in certain orders but I just put it all in together. I’m a baking REBEL.

Make 2" balls then flatten onto a cookie sheet.  Cook at 350 for 10 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes then eat them all. (It only makes about 10 cookies)

This post is part of Food Revolution Fridays

On this day:

In 2009 –
In 2008 – fused body parts
In 2007 –
In 2006 – a poll
In 2005 –

Leave a Reply

