Real Estate Dreams

I wish I lived somewhere else.

I love our house, it’s 99% perfect (needs a linen closet). I love having a yard where I can garden.  I love that there is a school and a park literally in my backyard. I love that there are good schools nearby and I love that we are a short drive away from a great grocery store.

That’s where the love stops and my dreams for future living comes out.  There are two dreams.  The first is the one I think about the most:

  • An old home with high baseboards and high ceilings with moldings but with modern decor (or one of those modernish looking infill homes that have been popping up everywhere)
  • A sizable FLAT yard with ample space for a vegetable garden and to run around and play
  • Mature trees
  • Being able to WALK to nearby shops (coffee, grocery, restaurants etc)
  • Being able to bike to work (I currently COULD but the finale of my ride home would be a Hill Of Doom – not interested)
  • A neighbourhood where people actually talk to each other ( I had high hopes for my new neighbour and was foiled majorly)

My second dream was inspired by my weekend.  We went to my cousin’s house for her oldest daughter’s 12th birthday.  They live about an hour outside the city on a large property with a barn, two horses, some fields and all that jazz.  Even with all the kids running around it is just so PEACEFUL there.  I imagined the following

  • A farmhouse with a wrap-around porch
  • a long row of very tall trees lining a huge yard with a clothesline housing all the linens
  • A HUGE vegetable garden with such bounty that I could actually can enough for the winter after eating my fill in teh summer
  • A HUGE berry patch that would produce pies and jams
  • A big play structure
  • Invisible fencing for our dogs who would otherwise run away
  • Some laying hens

The downsides of the second dream are definitely how far it would be to get to school, work and to the grocery store etc. the lack of diversity and the narrowing of choices for things like schools.

I think I’ll be able to make the first one happen in the next 5 years.  What is your  "realistic dream" living situation?

On this day:

In 2009 –
In 2008 –
In 2007 – I didn’t get that job, and I’m pretty glad
In 2006 – I miss listening to audio books. Any ideas where I could find some to download for free (ish)?
In 2005 – I don’t remember which pants I was talking about

34 Comments on “Real Estate Dreams”

  1. Anonymous says:

    I can totally understand the desire to have a big house and/or property, but I’m going in the opposite direction. I’d prefer to have a smaller place than I do now cause it’d mean less maintenance, cause I hate cleaning/mowing/shoveling. I can’t imagine the amount of time it’d take for upkeep on a farm house.
    Then again, I’m in a phase of my life right now where I want as little responsibility as possible, so maybe I’ll change my mind later.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I can totally understand the desire to have a big house and/or property, but I’m going in the opposite direction. I’d prefer to have a smaller place than I do now cause it’d mean less maintenance, cause I hate cleaning/mowing/shoveling. I can’t imagine the amount of time it’d take for upkeep on a farm house.
    Then again, I’m in a phase of my life right now where I want as little responsibility as possible, so maybe I’ll change my mind later.

  3. superfrayed says:

    My ideal situation would be to move to the area where my parents live. To me they have the best of both worlds. The live about 10km from me but they have 2 acres of property & are surrounded by trees. There’s plenty of room for gardens and other stuff. I would LOVE to be able to afford a home in that area though it’s highly unlikely I ever will 😦

  4. superfrayed says:

    My ideal situation would be to move to the area where my parents live. To me they have the best of both worlds. The live about 10km from me but they have 2 acres of property & are surrounded by trees. There’s plenty of room for gardens and other stuff. I would LOVE to be able to afford a home in that area though it’s highly unlikely I ever will 😦

  5. thebookpile says:

    Totally hear you about the walkability and bikeability factors. I’m kind of holding out for St. Joseph to begin allowing on-street parking and going from 4 lanes of traffic to 2, but I’m not optimistic.
    We’ve been looking for a new home for the past few months and finally found one this past weekend (our offer was accepted and now we’re sorting out inspections/financing this week).
    One thing that my dream home has that this new real one doesn’t is a study on the main floor. I would love to to have small room with a window, bookshelves, a comfy chair, small table or desk, and a nice little place to keep a bottle of scotch and glasses.
    Side note: Did you hear about the new farmer’s market coming to Orleans?

  6. thebookpile says:

    Totally hear you about the walkability and bikeability factors. I’m kind of holding out for St. Joseph to begin allowing on-street parking and going from 4 lanes of traffic to 2, but I’m not optimistic.
    We’ve been looking for a new home for the past few months and finally found one this past weekend (our offer was accepted and now we’re sorting out inspections/financing this week).
    One thing that my dream home has that this new real one doesn’t is a study on the main floor. I would love to to have small room with a window, bookshelves, a comfy chair, small table or desk, and a nice little place to keep a bottle of scotch and glasses.
    Side note: Did you hear about the new farmer’s market coming to Orleans?

  7. metahara says:

    I don’t know how realistic it would be, but, I’d love a place like the one your living in, to call my own.
    Or anything bigger and made with even more charm would be nice too.
    I’ve been renting toooooooo ,ong and it’s like a horrid part of the poverty cycle. It’s the hardest part to get over and out of-
    how can one save to buy and build credit while paying a high rent so one is not in a ghetto?
    I’ve already done my time in the ghetto and it’s not worth the financial savings to risk life, limb, peace and any bit of quiet.
    So
    To own something I could remodel, plant a garden, etc. would be lovely and can happen, I must get better at doing business /negotiating and getting my own projects up off the ground.
    If I was in your situation, I might want to stay in one neighborhood/school district from age 7-18 for the boy. Going to school with the same kids all the way thru is a gift for life.

    • tianadargent says:

      I agree with your last sentiment wholeheartedly. We are looking at moving in 2015 which would be Bobby’s second year of kindergarten (preschool? / I dunno the US equivalent). We would ideally be in our ‘forever’ home.

    • tianadargent says:

      I agree with your last sentiment wholeheartedly. We are looking at moving in 2015 which would be Bobby’s second year of kindergarten (preschool? / I dunno the US equivalent). We would ideally be in our ‘forever’ home.

  8. metahara says:

    I don’t know how realistic it would be, but, I’d love a place like the one your living in, to call my own.
    Or anything bigger and made with even more charm would be nice too.
    I’ve been renting toooooooo ,ong and it’s like a horrid part of the poverty cycle. It’s the hardest part to get over and out of-
    how can one save to buy and build credit while paying a high rent so one is not in a ghetto?
    I’ve already done my time in the ghetto and it’s not worth the financial savings to risk life, limb, peace and any bit of quiet.
    So
    To own something I could remodel, plant a garden, etc. would be lovely and can happen, I must get better at doing business /negotiating and getting my own projects up off the ground.
    If I was in your situation, I might want to stay in one neighborhood/school district from age 7-18 for the boy. Going to school with the same kids all the way thru is a gift for life.


Leave a Reply

