Food Revolution Friday #7

Yogurt

Have you noticed that reduced fat or ‘light’ yogurt is very….  the texture is just…

ok I’m just gonna say it, it’s like jizz.

It’s gross.  It’s NOT what yogurt should be like at all.

Yogurt should be thick yet smooth and creamy.  Ok enough about the texture.  Full fat, Mediterranean / Greek style yogurt is where it’s AT and the best brand I’ve found around these parts is Liberté Méditeranée.  It doesn’t have gelatin, unlike MANY yogurts on the market so it’s vegetarian friendly.  It doesn’t have sugar substitutes so you don’t have to worry about weird ass chemicals in your food.

The flavours available are really great and my favorites are cherry, lemon and coconut.  As delicious as they are, they still contain sugar and other stuff in addition to the actual fruit.  Sometimes I get lazy and buy it anyway but I really do enjoy flavouring their plain yogurt myself.

The best way to do it is to cut up the fruit and mix in your sweetener (if any – I use either brown sugar, maple syrup or honey depending on the fruit) let that sit together for a few hours then stir in the yogurt.  The reason I like to let it sit is that the sugar draws out the juices of the fruit and makes a bit of a syrup so the flavour goes right through the yogurt instead of just having fruit chunks in plain yogurt.

I haven’t tried lemon yet but I think I will soon.  Combos I have likes in the past include:

cherries and brown sugar
green grapes and honey
blueberries and maple syrup
mango brown sugar

Things I want to try soon:

lemon and honey
pureed apple, brown sugar and cinnamon

Have you done this? What is your favorite flavour combo? What would you dream of trying?

This post is a part of Food Revolution Fridays

( and so is THIS GREAT POST about the insult that is the typical children’s menu)

On this day:

In 2009 – rubella
In 2008 – I eat babies
In 2007 – nut chop
In 2006 – new mattresses are the BEST
In 2005 – blah

18 Comments on “Food Revolution Friday #7”

  1. metahara says:

    You can make your own yogurt, then allow it to strain thru a cheesecloth till it’s at your favorite consistency.
    OR
    Cheat and buy a thin yogurt
    and allow it to drain thru a cheesecloth in the fridge-
    I use a steamer pot lined with a towel
    My mother is a Greek gourmet, I grew up on home made Greek Yogurt-
    you don’t know what yogurt is, till you’ve had it that way with honey drizzled on top.
    It’s considered medicinal.

  2. metahara says:

    You can make your own yogurt, then allow it to strain thru a cheesecloth till it’s at your favorite consistency.
    OR
    Cheat and buy a thin yogurt
    and allow it to drain thru a cheesecloth in the fridge-
    I use a steamer pot lined with a towel
    My mother is a Greek gourmet, I grew up on home made Greek Yogurt-
    you don’t know what yogurt is, till you’ve had it that way with honey drizzled on top.
    It’s considered medicinal.

  3. damedini says:

    Thank you for this about kids menus! I read the blog post and commented twice (once as Alecta Megarea and once as Dini – it was giving me a hard time replying twice from one account.
    I remember as a small child objecting to the patronization of the “kiddie” menu and demanding a proper menu. I culdn’t necessarily finish an adult portion (I was maybe 4), but I refused to eat the crap offered to kids as a general rule.

  4. damedini says:

    Thank you for this about kids menus! I read the blog post and commented twice (once as Alecta Megarea and once as Dini – it was giving me a hard time replying twice from one account.
    I remember as a small child objecting to the patronization of the “kiddie” menu and demanding a proper menu. I culdn’t necessarily finish an adult portion (I was maybe 4), but I refused to eat the crap offered to kids as a general rule.

  5. superfrayed says:

    For whatever reason I’m not a huge fan of fruit in my yoghurt, I prefer to eat mine with granola. I buy the greek vanilla flavored and mix in some homemade chai granola and it’s pretty much to die for. And then I have some mixed berries on the side.

  6. superfrayed says:

    For whatever reason I’m not a huge fan of fruit in my yoghurt, I prefer to eat mine with granola. I buy the greek vanilla flavored and mix in some homemade chai granola and it’s pretty much to die for. And then I have some mixed berries on the side.

  7. utsi says:

    ❀ liberte yogurt. if i want jello yogurt, i could make it πŸ˜›
    western dairy also has really nice products.
    was actually trying to kick myself into making yogurt the other day. maybe this is a sign?

  8. utsi says:

    ❀ liberte yogurt. if i want jello yogurt, i could make it πŸ˜›
    western dairy also has really nice products.
    was actually trying to kick myself into making yogurt the other day. maybe this is a sign?

  9. Anonymous says:

    every morning, without fail, 1% plain yogurt (some organic brand, can’t remember brand name) with bran buds and a drop of maple syrup. it’s amazing how little you miss sugar once you start cutting it out.
    -meanie

  10. Anonymous says:

    every morning, without fail, 1% plain yogurt (some organic brand, can’t remember brand name) with bran buds and a drop of maple syrup. it’s amazing how little you miss sugar once you start cutting it out.
    -meanie

  11. lyndszy says:

    I keep saying I am going to try the mediteranee ones but haven’t. But I’m with you. Low fat, low cal, fake sugar/fake flavor yogurt is GROSS. I usually get the liberte organic. vanilla or plain. I am boring. I always wanted to try the lemon or mocha flavors though so maybe now I will :p

  12. lyndszy says:

    I keep saying I am going to try the mediteranee ones but haven’t. But I’m with you. Low fat, low cal, fake sugar/fake flavor yogurt is GROSS. I usually get the liberte organic. vanilla or plain. I am boring. I always wanted to try the lemon or mocha flavors though so maybe now I will :p


Leave a Reply

