Braided Garlic

A few years ago, I bought some garlic and one of the heads started sprouting in my kitchen so I planted it in the vegetable garden.  I just left it there and kind of ignored it until last weekend.

The patch was just getting so big that it was seriously eating up too much space so I decided it was time to harvest it.  You can tell garlic is ready to be dug up when 50% of the leaves have turned brown.

I dug it up, with Bobby’s ‘help’ and reserved 1/3 of it to re-plant.  I shook the dirt off the rest and braided them by the leaves.  Then I hung them on my pot rack since I don’t use that for anything. 

Drying garlic

All that came from one head of garlic. Not bad!

Once the leaves are all totally brown, I will trim them off as well as the roots and store in a cool dry place for use over the next 6 months.

That little leafy bunch on the far left is catnip.

On this day:

In 2009 –
In 2008 – nunya business!
In 2007 –
In 2006 – I shouldn’t have been so hard on Mean Girls.  It was so amazing in comparison to this movie
In 2005 – giving away paintings of whatever you want

6 Comments on “Braided Garlic”

  1. corto says:

    I am inspired! 🙂

  2. corto says:

    I am inspired! 🙂

  3. Score!! We just started a gardening by the foot garden in our back yard. My friend writes a blog about it. So far we just have some strawberries and a tomato plant, but if it goes well next year we will add some more to it. Yeah fresh food!!!

  4. Score!! We just started a gardening by the foot garden in our back yard. My friend writes a blog about it. So far we just have some strawberries and a tomato plant, but if it goes well next year we will add some more to it. Yeah fresh food!!!

  5. sispistol says:

    Thats so so amazing! I am impressed.
    enjoy!!

  6. sispistol says:

    Thats so so amazing! I am impressed.
    enjoy!!


Leave a Reply

