Food Revolution Friday #6

Wow – HEAT WAVE

Temperatures around these parts have been in the mid 30’s this week so it’s only natural that popsicles have been on my mind.  Did you know that Popsicle is actually a brand name for ice pop?  From now on I’m going back to pops.  This is similar to my new use of "facial tissue" instead of saying "Kleenex"  TAKE THAT BRANDING!

As I was saying – ice pops – they are basically fruit flavoured sugar water. NOT HEALTHY.  The great thing though, is that is it EASY to make very healthy ones.

When I was a kid, my mom would just pour peach juice into a mold and freeze that and I considered going the juice route but you now what? Juice is crap.  It’s basically taking out the majority of what is healthy about a fruit and leaving you with the rest.

So I figured I would puree whole fruit and freeze those into pops!  The best thing is that you don’t even need a recipe but if you are very uncreative, you can copy what I did:

Fruit Pops

-1 ripe banana (peeled)
-1 container blackberries (washed)
-2 kiwis (peeled)
-4T mediterranean PLAIN yogurt

Put it all in a blender until smooth, pour into molds and freeze.

The banana adds enough sweetness that you don’t need to add any sugar.  I just added the yogurt because otherwise I wouldn’t have enough to fill ALL my molds.

Other flavour combos I want to make soon:

-strawberry watermelon
-coconut lime
-lemon raspberry
-apple peanut butter

Any other flavour suggestions?

This post is part of Food Revolution Fridays

On this day:

In 2009 – on the value of nutritional information
In 2008 –
In 2007 – sexist or funny?
In 2006 – operation zip-tie was foiled
In 2005 –

8 Comments on “Food Revolution Friday #6”

  1. Anonymous says:

    A friend of mine had baby food jars from WIC that she never used, so she made yogurt pops with them. She used a combination of veggies and fruits for each flavor.
    I just got some molds, so I’m going to make these! I’ll probably starts with raspberries and mango because that’s what I have right now.

  2. Anonymous says:

    A friend of mine had baby food jars from WIC that she never used, so she made yogurt pops with them. She used a combination of veggies and fruits for each flavor.
    I just got some molds, so I’m going to make these! I’ll probably starts with raspberries and mango because that’s what I have right now.

  3. metahara says:

    I made herbal tea ice pops!
    Raw honey and infused chamomile is a nice
    calming the kid, yummy treat. It was loved.
    Now I make hibiscus tea / jamaica ice pops- full of vitamin C and I use a combo of cane sugar and raw honey, cause it’s cheaper that way (I’m between gigs).
    I also used to make my own juice with my super juicer, using organic apples, carrots, and a lil beet…mostly apple so it was still a sweet treat, but, vitamin packed too.
    We lived in the south when I was raising 2 high energy toddlers…watermelon and pineapple were key ingredients in replacing electrolites in that extreme heat.

  4. metahara says:

    I made herbal tea ice pops!
    Raw honey and infused chamomile is a nice
    calming the kid, yummy treat. It was loved.
    Now I make hibiscus tea / jamaica ice pops- full of vitamin C and I use a combo of cane sugar and raw honey, cause it’s cheaper that way (I’m between gigs).
    I also used to make my own juice with my super juicer, using organic apples, carrots, and a lil beet…mostly apple so it was still a sweet treat, but, vitamin packed too.
    We lived in the south when I was raising 2 high energy toddlers…watermelon and pineapple were key ingredients in replacing electrolites in that extreme heat.

  5. metahara says:

    p.s. I wish you lived next door so I could come get one of your home made sorbet like, smoothie pops!!! yummmmm.

  6. metahara says:

    p.s. I wish you lived next door so I could come get one of your home made sorbet like, smoothie pops!!! yummmmm.


Leave a Reply

