Food Revolution Friday #5 – the one about cake

Wow,

It seems like if I didn’t hold myself to these posts, I would never write here at all!  The problem is a mix of twitter and never being near a computer when I have post ideas.  I’ll either just have a one line story or be too tired/brain dead by the time I have time to write a post that it just doesn’t happen.

Last night this happened:

head bang

And you would think that I was salivating over some delicacies and got a little too close. Well that’s not the case at all.  Bobby and I went to get some good old healthy spinach for dinner and he ran off to go look at the cakes/fondle some bread.  I bent down to keep him from smooshing everything and didn’t notice the glass and totally slammed my forehead into the glass then FELL OVER ONTO THE GROCERY STORE FLOOR LIKE A DAZED BIRD THAT JUST FLEW INTO A WINDOW.

I’m not kidding, it was hard to get up. Luckily NO ONE HELPED ME. *sarcasm* then I went to pay and let Bobby pet the plastic seeing eye dog and drove home and made dinner and wondered to Brent if I had a concussion since I was all dizzy and barfy feeling.  

So there you go, I’m NOT cake obsessed!!

On the other hand, I DID eat gourmet cupcakes FOR DINNER last Saturday night.  They were absolutely stellar. I had 2 and instantly regretted it. Don’t get me wrong, they were fabulous but I immediately felt that feeling of sugar overload.  The one I get when I have been ‘good’ about my sugar intake and then go temporarily insane.

You would think that after all of this I would have a recipe for healthy cupcakes for you, but I don’t. Such a thing, sadly, does not exist.  What I CAN tell you about is what I made with all that spinach.
What you will need (amounts approximate):

-1/2C goat cheese (crumbled)
-4C or more uncooked spinach (washed)
-4C cherry tomatoes (washed and halved)
-3-4 minced garlic cloves
-700g fusili
-4T olive oil
-freshly ground black pepper (lots! If it looks like too much, add more)

Boil your noodles in salted water (always salt your pasta water people! if you are worried about sodium, make sure the rest of your meal is salt less)
Cook up the tomatoes and garlic in a hot pan with olive oil until the tomatoes just start to break down. Add 1/2C pasta water. Cover to keep warm.
Toss cooked pasta with spinach until in wilts
Add tomato mixture, cheese and pepper and stir to coat

Eat that shit up.

This post is part of Food Revolution Fridays

Ont his day:

In 2009 – I have that lime photo on the tack board of my desk
In 2008 – I never did make those grits…
In 2007 – I like that I still stand behind this parenting decision I made before ever becoming pregnant
In 2006 – Their house is so awesome now.  I want to live in their kitchen!
In 2005 – Steak – I’m sure it would kill my insides now…

14 Comments on “Food Revolution Friday #5 – the one about cake”

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hahahah, I totally favourited that tweet when I read it cause I pictured a cake catching your eye as you walk by, and then you zoning out staring at it, getting closer and closer, faster an faster, until you slam your head into the glass.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Hahahah, I totally favourited that tweet when I read it cause I pictured a cake catching your eye as you walk by, and then you zoning out staring at it, getting closer and closer, faster an faster, until you slam your head into the glass.

  3. corto says:

    It makes me sad that no one helped you. I would have tripped
    over myself helping if something like that happened in front of me!!!!

  4. corto says:

    It makes me sad that no one helped you. I would have tripped
    over myself helping if something like that happened in front of me!!!!

  5. utsi says:

    i’m just glad you didn’t connect with the glass the way i pictured it! those swing upwards for cleaning & other stuff. i was worried that you had been impaled by the edges in such a situation. sorry that none of the staff clued in as well 😦 i don’t expect much from customers. we had a cashier pistol whipped at a store the other night while folks watched on 😛

    • tianadargent says:

      that’s scary!
      There was no staff around at that end of the counter so I’m not sore on them but at least 3 other people just walked by.

      • Anonymous says:

        I made this recipe (minus the cheese) last night and it was really great!!
        I’m thinking of maybe adding green olives slices up next time to add in some extra flavor missing from the lack of cheese.

      • Anonymous says:

        I made this recipe (minus the cheese) last night and it was really great!!
        I’m thinking of maybe adding green olives slices up next time to add in some extra flavor missing from the lack of cheese.

    • tianadargent says:

      that’s scary!
      There was no staff around at that end of the counter so I’m not sore on them but at least 3 other people just walked by.

  6. utsi says:

    i’m just glad you didn’t connect with the glass the way i pictured it! those swing upwards for cleaning & other stuff. i was worried that you had been impaled by the edges in such a situation. sorry that none of the staff clued in as well 😦 i don’t expect much from customers. we had a cashier pistol whipped at a store the other night while folks watched on 😛

  7. omg! your twitter picture is hilarious.

  8. omg! your twitter picture is hilarious.


Leave a Reply

