Food Revolution Friday #4

The one where I gloat.

The other day I tweeted that Bobby got upset when we ran out of brussels sprouts at dinner.  That boy LOVES his cruciferous veggies. AND YOU CAN TOO!

Many many people have disliked brussels sprouts – with good reason.  Mushy, over cooked yuckiness.  However, I can lay claim to at lead four FOUR converts that I know of. Possibly more.  How do I do it?  Simple, high heat, no water.  This gives them a rich nutty taste.

Here are my two point five favorite ways of making them. 

Way #1 – hash

Cut of the dry ends and remove loose/yucky leaves. Slice it up vertically, as thin as you can.  Quickly pan fry with a small amount of one of the following:

-olive oil
-butter
-bacon grease

That list ranges from healthiest to least healthy. Can you guess which one is the most yummy?

Mix in toasted slivered almonds (and bacon bits if you went the bacon route) and serve.

Way #2 – roasted

Cut of the dry ends and remove loose/yucky leaves. Slice it vertically into quarters. Put them all into a metal baking dish (I usually use a bread pan) with one of the lubricants noted above, chopped garlic and some Montreal steak spice.  Roast at 350, stirring every 10 minutes, until about 1/3 of them kind of look caramelized.

Way #2.5 – BBQ

Prepare the same as above but in a foil packet. Throw on the bbq with and turn every 5 minutes until you can smell them when up close.

If you have never likes brussels sprouts before, I dare you to try one of these recipes.  DOUBLE DARE YOU.

This post is part of Food Revolution Fridays

On this day:

In 2009 – people mocked me during the aftermath of my car accident for not having a cellphone, but ou know what, I didn’t need one because EVERYONE ELSE had one…
In 2008 – selfish bus users
In 2007 – my 7 year plan is now my 5 year plan, although I doubt I’ll quit my job.
In 2006 – I think I still have that same batch of TVP
In 2005 – I still have that dress… *sigh*

16 Comments on “Food Revolution Friday #4”

  1. damedini says:

    I like them steamed then tossed with olive oil and Mrs Dash, or tossed with Mrs Dash and olive oil then roasted.

  2. damedini says:

    I like them steamed then tossed with olive oil and Mrs Dash, or tossed with Mrs Dash and olive oil then roasted.

  3. Anonymous says:

    I snagged a recipe from Sydney at the Crepes of Wrath where you steam them, toss them with butter, and then caramelized onions and bits of prosciutto. They were SO good. I will have to try your methods too, because now we are Brussels sprouts lovers in this house!
    Yummy. Will bookmark this for sure. 🙂
    Thanks for being part of Food Revolution Friday!

  4. Anonymous says:

    I snagged a recipe from Sydney at the Crepes of Wrath where you steam them, toss them with butter, and then caramelized onions and bits of prosciutto. They were SO good. I will have to try your methods too, because now we are Brussels sprouts lovers in this house!
    Yummy. Will bookmark this for sure. 🙂
    Thanks for being part of Food Revolution Friday!

  5. Nice recipes, thanks. Our 3 year old’s favourite vegetable is brussels sprouts. He has loved them for a long time. I’m going to try way #1 and #2 which I haven’t tried before. All veggies on the BBQ are awesome.

  6. Nice recipes, thanks. Our 3 year old’s favourite vegetable is brussels sprouts. He has loved them for a long time. I’m going to try way #1 and #2 which I haven’t tried before. All veggies on the BBQ are awesome.

  7. this sounds delicious!

  8. this sounds delicious!

  9. Anonymous says:

    My daughter loves the sprouts, too. Once when she was 3, she yelled out real loud in a grocery store “Mummy, can we get more Brussels sprouts?” I was soon mobbed by mothers poking me with sticks. I usually make them like your first recipe but with a drizzle of honey and I usually only cut them in half.

  10. Anonymous says:

    My daughter loves the sprouts, too. Once when she was 3, she yelled out real loud in a grocery store “Mummy, can we get more Brussels sprouts?” I was soon mobbed by mothers poking me with sticks. I usually make them like your first recipe but with a drizzle of honey and I usually only cut them in half.


Leave a Reply

