Food Revolution Friday #3 (30 minutes early)

The Goldfish Crackers

Bobby loves them.  Really he’s not the kind of kid who would pitch a fit if told he can’t have a particular food item as long as a suitable replacement is offered but he thinks they are fun and really, they are. But are they HEALTHY?  The ingredients aren’t posted online (as far as I can tell) but some very incomplete nutritional information is:

Nutrition Facts
Amount per Serving (serving size) = 55 pieces

Calories 140 Sugars < 1g
Total Fat 5g Protein 4g
Sat. Fat 1g  
Trans Fat 0g % Daily Values**
Cholesterol < 5mg Vitamin A 0%
Sodium 250mg Vitamin C 0%
Total Carb. 19g Calcium 4%
Dietary Fiber 2g Iron 6%

It would be nice if they said how many grams were in a serving but looking at the sodium along I cringe.  Also, this is for their ‘whole grain’ ones… the fiber is negligible int he original kind. 

So I’m contemplating making my own. The tricky part isn’t the recipe though, it’s the shape!  First I found this cutter but I feel like for the price and the quality, I could probably make a nicer one myself out of a tin can or something. Then, THEN I found this page and I now think shark crackers would be super awesome, or a nice variety of wicked deadly marine life perhaps? Which three would you choose?

And for the recipe? This one doesn’t look so bad (actually, it looks GOOD!) but I have ZERO experience in cracker making.  Is there a nice healthy recipe you enjoy?

This post is a part of Food Revolution Fridays

On this day:

In 2009 –
In 2008 – hiding money in the floor boards and being hugely preggo
In 2007 – me and my animal friends
In 2006 – I plan on wearing decorative scarves to work to piss off my coworkers
In 2005 – I made dinner while wearing a bikini (the one in the user icon)

8 Comments on “Food Revolution Friday #3 (30 minutes early)”

  1. damedini says:

    Those are all cute, especially the mini-tiny ones! Sharks are always a win, and the pirate ship is good as well.
    Carly Emery’s School of Country Living cookbook (title varies, but her only cookbook) has many cracker recipes, all healthy and natural.

  2. damedini says:

    Those are all cute, especially the mini-tiny ones! Sharks are always a win, and the pirate ship is good as well.
    Carly Emery’s School of Country Living cookbook (title varies, but her only cookbook) has many cracker recipes, all healthy and natural.

  3. superfrayed says:

    I was going to recommend Annie’s Bunnies but they seem to have just as much sodium.
    The other day I watched Anna Olson make some crackers and she made it seem pretty easy but I’ve never made them myself.

  4. superfrayed says:

    I was going to recommend Annie’s Bunnies but they seem to have just as much sodium.
    The other day I watched Anna Olson make some crackers and she made it seem pretty easy but I’ve never made them myself.

  5. metahara says:

    I am not a fan of those crackers. They taste like chemicals to me…and somehow not as tasy as the chemical food we call dorito’s or cheeto’s.
    love that you are making your own.
    If I was a mom of a wee lil one these days, I think I would experiment with rice and oat flour, since everything else is usually wheat.
    I think cane sugar is OK and certainly better than anything synthetic or over processed.
    good luck with the shark crackers!
    what a lucky kid!

  6. metahara says:

    I am not a fan of those crackers. They taste like chemicals to me…and somehow not as tasy as the chemical food we call dorito’s or cheeto’s.
    love that you are making your own.
    If I was a mom of a wee lil one these days, I think I would experiment with rice and oat flour, since everything else is usually wheat.
    I think cane sugar is OK and certainly better than anything synthetic or over processed.
    good luck with the shark crackers!
    what a lucky kid!


Leave a Reply

