Trying to figure out what the fates are telling me with this one.

Sometimes life just needs to give you a slap in the face to bring you back to reality.

Yesterday I stayed home sick from work because in he night I woke up with what I assume is food poisoning but I don’t know anyone else who had it.  I went out at lunch time to find some food to suit my palate and while out I got into a fender bender and spent the entire afternoon:

  1. outside in the cold
  2. feeling sick with no bathrooms around
  3. not having eaten
  4. with an undriveablen (not a word) car that I’ve had for less than a week

The basic overview of what happened is as follows;  I was at a multi lane intersection and I was turning right using one of those yield-lanes that keeps you out of the actual intersection. When I entered the turn, there was a car at the end of it, in motion.  There was a car in the far lane of the road we were both turning onto (that being two lanes away from the lane you SHOULD be going to when turning) and then no cars to be seen after that.

I was going pretty slow as was the car in front of me.  I turned to check my blind spot (foot on the brake) and when I saw nothing was coming I took my foot slightly off the break as I turned to look forward again.  The car in front of me was COMPLETELY stopped. The car driving down the far lane had gone by at this point.  I slammed back on the brake and turned as hard left as I could to try and get by but the corners of our cars decided to totally make out.

I realize that as far as the strict rules go, I am totally at fault.  But what the hell???

I sat in my car telling myself that this somehow didn’t happen.  Wishing that my life could rewind like my ridiculous cable television does.  After a few minutes? I got out to check to see if the other driver was ok.  She was. I was MAYBE going 5km/hr at the time.  And she says something like “I’m really upset because this is the THIRD TIME IN SIX MONTHS the same thing has happened to me!”

Now I feel a little less culpable.  She obviously has a history or randomly stopping for no reason.  Anyways, we had to wait for the cops to come (1.25 hours) and that part went ok.  He didn’t give me a ticket because he said that even though it was TECHNICALLY negligence for me, it’s the kind of thing where you can’t REALLY lay blame.

I got a ride to the collision center at the car dealership with the tow truck driver.

ASIDE – do tow truck driver’s make a fucking fortune?  The driver made it seem that way. He also had many colourful stories about the bad parts of town and his experience with his cheating wife and her cartel family. NOT UNCOMFORTABLE AT ALL. Lying, it was a little uncomfortable.  But he was very nice.

The dealership dude set me up with a rental car and 4 hours later I was on my way home to FINALLY use a bathroom and collapse in a heap of suck.

I think had all that not happened I would be feeling good and back at work today but *sigh*.

Oh and when I called my car insurance, during the questioning they ask how many km are on the car.  When I said 175 she said “thousand” and I said, “no just 175” and she said “ouuu that’s gotta hurt!”

Thanks lady!

Later when I got home I looked at the police report and the woman driving was born in 1935.  She probably got her liscence back when cars were first invented.  I kid but seriously, there are a lot of aging drivers out in our city right now and it’s only going to increase.  I’m not saying all old drivers are horrible but 3 accidents in 6 months of the same nature must mean something yet for some reason, I doubt this woman’s competency to drive is going to be evaluated.

In the end, everyone came out fine.  I just hope that this annoying thing happened for a reason. Like maybe if it didn’t, I would have been smacked by a big rig at the next intersection or something.  Which reminds me of the time I stopped for some birds in the road and at the next intersection someone ran a red light and I would have been right in it’s path if not for those birds.

On this day:

In 2009 –
In 2008 – fun pregnancy TMI
In 2007 –
In 2006 –
In 2005 – I was home sick from work…

4 Comments on “Trying to figure out what the fates are telling me with this one.”

  1. Anonymous says:

    I always worry about certain gaps in my vision when I’m driving. If you’re looking over your shoulder to check for a blind spot, you don’t see what’s happening in front of you for a brief moment, and anything can happen in that moment. I try to keep a good distance between myself and the next car, but I’ve still had a few close calls. I’m pretty sure it’s just a matter of time before the same thing happens to me.
    I’ve also experienced old drivers who would drift across the lane division. These people definitely shouldn’t be driving, cause it was obviously not a mistake…it kept happening over several kilometres.
    I wouldn’t feel so bad about the accident if she says the same thing happened so often. Even if you’re technically at fault, some blame should be put on people who drive/stop unpredictably.

    • tianadargent says:

      That’s what the cop said, that it was obvious that I couldn’t look in two places at once and no one would expect someone to stop for no reason.
      Apparently it happens a lot.

    • tianadargent says:

      That’s what the cop said, that it was obvious that I couldn’t look in two places at once and no one would expect someone to stop for no reason.
      Apparently it happens a lot.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I always worry about certain gaps in my vision when I’m driving. If you’re looking over your shoulder to check for a blind spot, you don’t see what’s happening in front of you for a brief moment, and anything can happen in that moment. I try to keep a good distance between myself and the next car, but I’ve still had a few close calls. I’m pretty sure it’s just a matter of time before the same thing happens to me.
    I’ve also experienced old drivers who would drift across the lane division. These people definitely shouldn’t be driving, cause it was obviously not a mistake…it kept happening over several kilometres.
    I wouldn’t feel so bad about the accident if she says the same thing happened so often. Even if you’re technically at fault, some blame should be put on people who drive/stop unpredictably.


Leave a Reply

