What would you do?

Recently, I was at my grocery store of choice and I got annoyed.  The couple in front of me at the check-out were walking away with their bags and had left their cart in the aisle.  I called out "Excuse me!!! You forgot your cart!" I didn’t even have a rude tone when I said it, assuming they had simply forgotten.

Because what was I SUPPOSED to do? Sheepishly push it through with my own cart and then be a responsible person and put BOTH away?  I guess I could have? But why should I?

Anyways the man gave me EYE DARTS and the women did not react at all.   I assume he is a total fucking douche-bag and that she’s just used to it and says nothing. (he did take his cart away in the end)

That is the point at which I got annoyed.  When I got home I told Brent about it and was shocked and even MORE annoyed when he basically told me that my big mouth is going to get me shot in the head by a crazy person.  Look. YES there are crazy people on the world who will go off on you for expecting them to be respectiful citizens. Is that really something that is SO COMMON that you should live in fear of ever speaking up for the ‘right thing to do’ in society?  I think not.

I’m not going to go out of my way to ‘correct’ every jerky thing I see in a day but if you leave YOUR cart in MY way, I’m going to speak up.  If you spit on the ground right in front of me, I will say that it’s gross. If I see a a teenager punching another one in the head and there is no sign of a weapon I’m going to step in. (all true facts proven by experience) so there you have it. 

My ovaries are bigger than your balls *crotch grab* On this day:

In 2009 –
In 2008 – want to know way too much about me?
In 2007 –
In 2006 – photos of my tongue and my cat (sexy?)
In 2005 – I still have that raincoat but I wish it was yellow Anyone want to trade? It’s a medium.

18 Comments on “What would you do?”

  1. Anonymous says:

    I totally know how you feel about this. When my friend Pat sees people littering on the bus, it pisses him off so much that he throws the litter at them when they get off. I totally agree with him doing this (cause littering is so rude), but his wife is scared of him getting knifed one day and I can’t say I disagree with her.
    People get killed breaking up fights, but does that mean we should step aside and let them happen? I think sometimes you just have to assume peole are decent (or not crazy), and not let the bad people ruin things. Empathy is a basic human virtue, and if everyone assumed that everyone else would kill them over something stupid, the world would be a far more miserable place.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I totally know how you feel about this. When my friend Pat sees people littering on the bus, it pisses him off so much that he throws the litter at them when they get off. I totally agree with him doing this (cause littering is so rude), but his wife is scared of him getting knifed one day and I can’t say I disagree with her.
    People get killed breaking up fights, but does that mean we should step aside and let them happen? I think sometimes you just have to assume peole are decent (or not crazy), and not let the bad people ruin things. Empathy is a basic human virtue, and if everyone assumed that everyone else would kill them over something stupid, the world would be a far more miserable place.

  3. vonandmoggy says:

    I’m sick of bad manners, too…I say, “YOU’RE WELCOME!” loudly when I hold the door open for people who don’t say thank you, I point at cars when they turn without using signals…most people have clearly been raised by savages.
    *sigh*

  4. vonandmoggy says:

    I’m sick of bad manners, too…I say, “YOU’RE WELCOME!” loudly when I hold the door open for people who don’t say thank you, I point at cars when they turn without using signals…most people have clearly been raised by savages.
    *sigh*

  5. rachaeldoss says:

    Oh my god- I am worried I will stroke out from my anger at dealing with these same people! The carts thing really kills me, because HOW HARD IS IT TO PUSH A CART WITH WHEELS!?! Once I saw a woman leave her cart in a space RIGHT IN FRONT of the return. I wanted to apologize to her for the accident shed had causing her short term memory loss or the sporadic loss of leg movement control, but I just got out of my cart and put hers away and then shook my finger t her in a disapproving manner.
    I want to be able to say things when I’m in the right!!!

  6. rachaeldoss says:

    Oh my god- I am worried I will stroke out from my anger at dealing with these same people! The carts thing really kills me, because HOW HARD IS IT TO PUSH A CART WITH WHEELS!?! Once I saw a woman leave her cart in a space RIGHT IN FRONT of the return. I wanted to apologize to her for the accident shed had causing her short term memory loss or the sporadic loss of leg movement control, but I just got out of my cart and put hers away and then shook my finger t her in a disapproving manner.
    I want to be able to say things when I’m in the right!!!

  7. thebookpile says:

    When it takes nearly zero effort to do the polite thing, you’ve got to be a real asshole to act like they did. I applaud you for the above, especially if you asked politely the first time (some people are a bit absent-minded so you don’t want to be too rude if it’s just an honest memory lapse).
    I also I think that the fact that you’re a woman will discourage all but the most crazy assholes from violent retaliation…although it might be a good idea to identify the item in your grocery cart most suitable as a weapon before heading to the checkout, just in case. (Could even give new meaning to the phrase “can of whoopass”).

  8. thebookpile says:

    When it takes nearly zero effort to do the polite thing, you’ve got to be a real asshole to act like they did. I applaud you for the above, especially if you asked politely the first time (some people are a bit absent-minded so you don’t want to be too rude if it’s just an honest memory lapse).
    I also I think that the fact that you’re a woman will discourage all but the most crazy assholes from violent retaliation…although it might be a good idea to identify the item in your grocery cart most suitable as a weapon before heading to the checkout, just in case. (Could even give new meaning to the phrase “can of whoopass”).

  9. Hey I work part time at a Metro and I remind people all the time my lane is not a cart park! LoL
    And I agree with the signal comment above. WTF?

    • utsi says:

      chuckling… because 20 years with dominion/metro. and it’s still the most common thing to hear a cashier say – can you please pull your cart through?
      i once had five lined up in a row. and i watched each customer pull their groceries out and past teh buggies to put them on the belt O.o it was mind boggling.
      what you (SRH) did and said is the most common and effective reaction. i’d say the safest too. i’ve seen it get violent with buggies being used as ramming devices on other customers (again – O.o) but seldom does it get more violent than that.
      and that’s a couple of decades worth on input. however, i do live in toronto. and i will say that it is changing. i get less certain that people (and/or society) are sane and rational anymore. but i’ll be damned if i’m going to be part of the problem and ignore things. being the part of teh solution may get me hurt, but at least i have been true to my values and expectations of society.

    • utsi says:

      chuckling… because 20 years with dominion/metro. and it’s still the most common thing to hear a cashier say – can you please pull your cart through?
      i once had five lined up in a row. and i watched each customer pull their groceries out and past teh buggies to put them on the belt O.o it was mind boggling.
      what you (SRH) did and said is the most common and effective reaction. i’d say the safest too. i’ve seen it get violent with buggies being used as ramming devices on other customers (again – O.o) but seldom does it get more violent than that.
      and that’s a couple of decades worth on input. however, i do live in toronto. and i will say that it is changing. i get less certain that people (and/or society) are sane and rational anymore. but i’ll be damned if i’m going to be part of the problem and ignore things. being the part of teh solution may get me hurt, but at least i have been true to my values and expectations of society.

  10. Hey I work part time at a Metro and I remind people all the time my lane is not a cart park! LoL
    And I agree with the signal comment above. WTF?

  11. Anonymous says:

    I’m kind of more shocked at what Brent said to you.

  12. Anonymous says:

    I’m kind of more shocked at what Brent said to you.

  13. Anonymous says:

    So funny! I have a big mouth too and am always saying stuff like that 😉
    @somekindofmom

  14. Anonymous says:

    So funny! I have a big mouth too and am always saying stuff like that 😉
    @somekindofmom


Leave a Reply

