GOAAAAL!

  just made a post about her goals and it’s inspired me tho think about some for myself.  It good to heave’em ya know???

COOKING

Brent has been doing a lot of the cooking lately, which is absolutely great.  He has a certain repertoire of things he likes to make and I like all of it.  What’s getting to me though is that the things he likes to cook and the things I like to cook are totally different and I miss the variety that comes from both of us cooking.  So this goal is to cook at least 2 meals a week from scratch.

READING

For the last few weeks, I have been taking french writing lessons d days a week over my lunch hour.  It’s an intermediate level primarily focusing on grammar.  I went to totally french school for 12 years. Unfortunately, between the end of 10th grade and now, I’ve lost a lot of my abilities and my writing skills are the WORST.  I get mocked.  It’s horrifying.  I’ve realized that what would really help me, in addition to this course, is to read some French novels that are not too difficult, but that are good examples of proper writing, grammar and style in French.  Suggestions for this would be very helpful but be warned, if you suggest Jeanne, Fille du Roi , I’ll have to kill you because I’ve had to read that a bajiollionty times in school already. So part one of this goal is to find some french books to read.

Conversely, I spend a lot of my evening folding laundry, getting Bobby’s daycare stuff ready for the next day and reading of the internet, all in front of the TV.  I need to make an effort to do more reading so I’d like to take at least 10 minutes before bed each night to read.  Hopefully I can increase this commitment with time.

SHOPPING LOCALLY

This means two things.  1- shop in stores that are local to my city (reduce internet shopping) and 2- shop in stores that are owned and run by local people.  Number one is easy enough.  I only shop online for things I can’t get here and I do it about twice a year.

The second part is a little trickier.  We already get 99% of our groceries from Farm Boy, which is locally run.  We plan on growing a lot of our own produce in the summer fall so that’s about as local as you can get and we go to farmers markets now and then.  we both despise chain restaurants so we already only eat at locally owned ones.  The hard part is when it comes to non-food items.  The only locally owned clothing store I shop at is Allegro, any more you could suggest?.  I can’t even think of a local place where I can buy garbage bags, shoes, potting soil and who knows what else.  I need to figure out what shops are localy owned and try harder to give them my patronage.  Any suggestions? (this part would probably be easier if I didn’t live in Orleans)

ARTS AND CRAFTS

This is a recurring issue for me.  I feel like I have no time to work on my artistic projects.  I need to make time for it by being more diligent about keeping my free time open.  My weekends would be less busy if I did just a little more around the house on weekdays for example.  I could also probably work some in if I set Bobby up with a craft in the meantime.  I think I should try and produce one piece per month.  So far, I’m on track for 2010 (5 pieces! # of which go together though), hopefully I can keep it going for the rest of the year.

I think that’s it for my goals right now.  What are your current goals?

On this day:

In 2009 –
In 2008 – I’m not sure, but I think I HAVE seen Pillsbury products there recently
In 2007 – ahh spandex!
In 2006 – boring wedding crap
In 2005 –


Ctrl+Enter to post
20 Comments on “GOAAAAL!”

  1. Anonymous says:

    In high school, I was forced to take a second language. We read Le Petit Prince. Also, we read L’Étranger by Camus and Huis Clos by Sartre, which was cool cause I got to read these famous philosophical stories at the same time. Not sure if those would be too easy for you.

  2. Anonymous says:

    In high school, I was forced to take a second language. We read Le Petit Prince. Also, we read L’Étranger by Camus and Huis Clos by Sartre, which was cool cause I got to read these famous philosophical stories at the same time. Not sure if those would be too easy for you.

  3. utsi says:

    the first two books mentioned were the only ones that sprang immediately to my mind.
    as to local- are there any folks or groups into local that might be helpful? i know an lj friend in ottawa who’s been trying to do local, but more from the food angle than all around

  4. utsi says:

    the first two books mentioned were the only ones that sprang immediately to my mind.
    as to local- are there any folks or groups into local that might be helpful? i know an lj friend in ottawa who’s been trying to do local, but more from the food angle than all around

  5. Anonymous says:

    Are you a fan of Harry Potter? I have the series in French and have found that my knowledge of the books in English, while reading in French, helps quite a bit. Also, I’m a huge fan of reading children’s books in French.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Are you a fan of Harry Potter? I have the series in French and have found that my knowledge of the books in English, while reading in French, helps quite a bit. Also, I’m a huge fan of reading children’s books in French.

  7. you should tell me if you find any good (but not super challenging) french books!

  8. you should tell me if you find any good (but not super challenging) french books!

  9. Anonymous says:

    i see crazy similarities between you and i! (or maybe it’s common to all working moms?) on sundays i’ve been cooking like crazy and freezing for the week; i also need help with my french (i just lost my bilingual bonus because i didn’t meet the criteria for my new job – training here i come); i have a shitload of arts and crafts ideas on paper, but just need time to execute. and fresh air. i use a lot of spray paint with my crafts.
    if you find good french books let me know!

  10. Anonymous says:

    i see crazy similarities between you and i! (or maybe it’s common to all working moms?) on sundays i’ve been cooking like crazy and freezing for the week; i also need help with my french (i just lost my bilingual bonus because i didn’t meet the criteria for my new job – training here i come); i have a shitload of arts and crafts ideas on paper, but just need time to execute. and fresh air. i use a lot of spray paint with my crafts.
    if you find good french books let me know!

  11. Anonymous says:

    oh, it’s me, meanie, who wants to know what french books you have read (can’t log in for some reason).

  12. Anonymous says:

    oh, it’s me, meanie, who wants to know what french books you have read (can’t log in for some reason).


Leave a Reply

