A waste of the day…. thanks for nothing.

 Today I took the afternoon off so I could bring Bobby to get the swine flu vaccine.  I knew the lineups were long so my plan was to get there 30 minutes before it opened to ensure that I could at least get in before it closed a 8:30 pm.

When I got there, they told me that they were at capacity for the day and that I could try again tomorrow.  BEFORE IT WAS EVEN OPEN. 

This thing is so poorly planned and there are a lot of reasons why it’s just fucking ridiculous.  (6 clinics for the entire city is a big example)  So in a calm and rational moment of anger I wrote the following email to the city’s health department:

Would you please tell me why the clinics are only open at 2:30 pm?  It seems to me that you could get nearly twice as many people through in a day if you opened at say… 9am.

That way, people who are not working during the day could go earlier and then people who do work during the day wouldn’t have to take the afternoon off to stand in line to MAYBE get a ticket.

There must be some reason why this is not the case.

Sincerely, someone who wasted their whole afternoon for nothing;

{contact information}

I just got an auto-reply stating that I would get a real-person response within 2 working days so I’ll update you at that time.

On this day:

In 2008 – 
In 2007 – 
In 2006 – secret messages
In 2005 – not so secret messages

 

12 Comments on “A waste of the day…. thanks for nothing.”

  1. vonandmoggy says:

    Ugh…you wrote the e-mail I was thinking of sending all day. I went at about 1:45pm yesterday (45 min before opening, for anyone not in the know) and finally stumbled out to the car just before 7pm. Now, I’m okay with waiting…but I also wondered why they don’t open earlier? AND why they chose this time to train nurses/staff on a new computer system!? It crashed/hung up at least twice yesterday, adding to the waiting time.
    *sigh*
    Good luck tomorrow!!!
    (And, yup, I’m one of the very-at-risk people…I’m all sensitive to folks thinking I’m jumping the queue and cheating. Eep.)

    • tianadargent says:

      I just find it DEPLORABLE that they get everyone in a panicked frenzy and wanting the shot and then FAIL at execution so flamboyantly.
      Like… CLOSED BEFORE IT OPENS??? That’s insane!

    • tianadargent says:

      I just find it DEPLORABLE that they get everyone in a panicked frenzy and wanting the shot and then FAIL at execution so flamboyantly.
      Like… CLOSED BEFORE IT OPENS??? That’s insane!

  2. vonandmoggy says:

    Ugh…you wrote the e-mail I was thinking of sending all day. I went at about 1:45pm yesterday (45 min before opening, for anyone not in the know) and finally stumbled out to the car just before 7pm. Now, I’m okay with waiting…but I also wondered why they don’t open earlier? AND why they chose this time to train nurses/staff on a new computer system!? It crashed/hung up at least twice yesterday, adding to the waiting time.
    *sigh*
    Good luck tomorrow!!!
    (And, yup, I’m one of the very-at-risk people…I’m all sensitive to folks thinking I’m jumping the queue and cheating. Eep.)

  3. metahara says:

    I keep hearing stories in L.A. of people being told to come get the vaccine from their Dr., showing up, waiting in line for hours and hours (one waited 8 hrs with her asthmatic toddler) and then being turned away when they ran out.
    I got the flu vaccine a couple times in the past years, as an asthmatic, I’m urged to. Funny thing is, those are the only years I recall having the flu in…..
    keep us updated on how it goes and if there are side effects from the shot (though I haven’t heard of any).

  4. metahara says:

    I keep hearing stories in L.A. of people being told to come get the vaccine from their Dr., showing up, waiting in line for hours and hours (one waited 8 hrs with her asthmatic toddler) and then being turned away when they ran out.
    I got the flu vaccine a couple times in the past years, as an asthmatic, I’m urged to. Funny thing is, those are the only years I recall having the flu in…..
    keep us updated on how it goes and if there are side effects from the shot (though I haven’t heard of any).

  5. Yeah on the weekend I thought going at 6:30am would be early enough to get a ticket for the day. Boy was I wrong. It was already closed by that time even though the clinic was opening at 9am on weekends. I found out after I got there that some people started lining up at 2am. No wonder there weren’t any spaces left.
    Today was the first day they didn’t run out of spaces at all clinics before they opened so there is still time left. Now they are using a bracelet system so you don’t need to bring Bobby with you, line up for a bracelet and then go back at your assigned time. Good luck.

  6. Yeah on the weekend I thought going at 6:30am would be early enough to get a ticket for the day. Boy was I wrong. It was already closed by that time even though the clinic was opening at 9am on weekends. I found out after I got there that some people started lining up at 2am. No wonder there weren’t any spaces left.
    Today was the first day they didn’t run out of spaces at all clinics before they opened so there is still time left. Now they are using a bracelet system so you don’t need to bring Bobby with you, line up for a bracelet and then go back at your assigned time. Good luck.


Leave a Reply

