A real nail biter.

 As far back into my life as I can remember, I have been a nail biter.  I’m not just saying that for the sake of a post.  I have a very clear memory from before the age of 4 of me biting my nails and I highly doubt that was the first time.

I’ve looked into it a bit and it seems that the only agreed upon cause for nail biting is stress or anxiety.  I wonder what I was so stressed out about at that age?  I definitely see it now though.  I don’t always bite my nails and when I find myself doing it it clicks that there’s something gnawing on my mind which cases me to gnaw on my hands.

It doesn’t even have to be anything ‘bad’, something as simple as thinking about all the things I need to do to prep for a dinner party sometimes sets me off.

You may think I’m posting this because it’s a habit I want to stop.  On more than one occasion, as a grown woman, I’ve been chastised for biting my nails, like it’s anybody’s business other than mine.  Well I don’t particularly care if I bite my nails.  What the hell is the big deal anyways.  They are short? OH NOES!!! People might think I’m a man!!!

I think it’s a fairly harmless way to deal with minor stressors. It’s not like my fingers are bleeding or infected and even if they were, it affects no one but me.  It’s really astonishing that some people feel they have the absolute right to tell me "Stop biting your nails!" like they are doing me some big public service or I’m a stupid child.

UGGHHH I started out just wanting to write about how I’m okay with my ‘bad habit’ and now I’m all annoyed.

On this day:

In 2008 – 
In 2007 – I think this was the last time I was given flowers *sigh*
In 2006 – party tricks with your genitals
In 2005 – I feel the same way about the gym now as I did about pilates then.  I miss those classes so much!

4 Comments on “A real nail biter.”

  1. fiercekitty says:

    Jimmy bites his nails down to chewing his fingers til they bleed! It really bugged me to see him hurting himself like that, plus his hands just looked gross.
    If my nails get too long I bite them. They start to drive me nuts.

  2. fiercekitty says:

    Jimmy bites his nails down to chewing his fingers til they bleed! It really bugged me to see him hurting himself like that, plus his hands just looked gross.
    If my nails get too long I bite them. They start to drive me nuts.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Well, you go ahead and bite your nails if it makes you feel better. The only problem I can see with it is having your hands in your mouth which you know are rife with germs unless you wash them thoroughly beforehand. And that space just under the nails especially collects a whole pile of bacteria and is very difficult to clean without a good brushing. Also, it’s not so good for your teeth. And it’s kind of yucky to watch people chewing their nails and spitting nail bits around — kind of like watching people pick their nose and flicking boogers around. Other than that it really isn’t anyone’s business.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Well, you go ahead and bite your nails if it makes you feel better. The only problem I can see with it is having your hands in your mouth which you know are rife with germs unless you wash them thoroughly beforehand. And that space just under the nails especially collects a whole pile of bacteria and is very difficult to clean without a good brushing. Also, it’s not so good for your teeth. And it’s kind of yucky to watch people chewing their nails and spitting nail bits around — kind of like watching people pick their nose and flicking boogers around. Other than that it really isn’t anyone’s business.


Leave a Reply

