Mass Consumer

 One of my work friends has been teasing me about being addicted to shopping because I went shopping 2 days in a row last week.  But it got me thinking, not about my recent shopping, but about how much I read.

I don’t read that much anymore.  There are a variety of reasons but here’s the short version:

  • I used to read before bed but now the window of time I have for that before completely passing out is much smaller
  • I find I’m sometimes "read out" because of all the blogs I follow
  • I no longer have the luxury of spending an afternoon in bed reading a book

What does this have to do with shopping?  Well I guess I’m consuming too much while at the same time, consuming too little. I probably have about 20-30 books here in the house on my to-read list and I know I have many many more that I don’t have (yet) that I want to read.  So reading MAYBE 5 pages a night doesn’t really move things along at a reasonable pace.

I was thinking of bringing in a book for cardio day at the gym so I could at least get in a solid 45 minutes of reading time per day. I think in the near future I will start doing that but as of right now, I use that time to catch up on the Q Podcasts (side note to Jian:  the new sports panel segment is SO uncalled for. There are entire television networks devoted to that, save you air time for things people don’t have ready access to).

I think I’m only 2 weeks behind on them now and I get through about 2 per day so then I’ll be reading more.

I LOVE reading!  When I don’t feel like I’m reading enough, I feel like my brain is oozing out all it’s smarts.

For you avid readers; How do you deal with having a huge appetite for books but not enough time to go through them all?

On this day:

In 2008 – 
In 2007 – 
In 2006 – 
In 2005 – I maple syrup

6 Comments on “Mass Consumer”

  1. rachaeldoss says:

    I have so many books waiting to be read. It’s sad. I miss it. I’ll be interested to see how you remedy the problem and try it for myself.

  2. rachaeldoss says:

    I have so many books waiting to be read. It’s sad. I miss it. I’ll be interested to see how you remedy the problem and try it for myself.

  3. fiercekitty says:

    I also find myself “read out”. I also find that my attention span has shortened – I have problems reading things in any more than snippets, now. I even flit from tab to tab in my browser. I can’t get through a whole Globe & Mail article.
    I remember just a couple years ago I would spend hours and hours just DEVOURING a book. I miss that.

  4. fiercekitty says:

    I also find myself “read out”. I also find that my attention span has shortened – I have problems reading things in any more than snippets, now. I even flit from tab to tab in my browser. I can’t get through a whole Globe & Mail article.
    I remember just a couple years ago I would spend hours and hours just DEVOURING a book. I miss that.

  5. Anonymous says:

    I read during meals. I read on the bus to and from work. If there’s nothing else going on I sometimes take my book to the park at lunch time and read. I read before bed — even if it’s only 10 minutes. And at least once a month I demand an entire Sunday afternoon to do nothing but read. Gotta make time for the readin’

  6. Anonymous says:

    I read during meals. I read on the bus to and from work. If there’s nothing else going on I sometimes take my book to the park at lunch time and read. I read before bed — even if it’s only 10 minutes. And at least once a month I demand an entire Sunday afternoon to do nothing but read. Gotta make time for the readin’


Leave a Reply

