Tooting my horn.. and yours too…

 I’m a fucking great mom.

I don’t see women say that enough.  It’s pretty sad. I see lots of women writing about their mistakes, their guilt, their regrets etc. Why is that?  Is it because all the parenting media has them paranoid?  That’s my guess.

Any whoo… as I was saying… I’m a fucking great mom.  There are lots of reasons why this is true, but the main reason is that I love my son, I make sure he knows it and I make sure every moment I am with him is the happiest it could possibly be for him.  That doesn’t mean I let him do whatever he wants.  Throughout all this super fun loving life, he needs to learn the life lessons that will help him become a responsible, loving and overall awesome man. 

What about you?  What makes you the awesome parent that you are?

And if you aren’t a parent, I want to know what awesome stuff you do for your fellow beings.  Let’s all toot our horns here shall we?

On this day:

In 2008 – 
In 2007 – photos of friends and food (and me being drunk at work), and a friends-only post
In 2006 – I miss my jelly.  I wonder if I have any grapes ready, I haven’t even checked!!!
In 2005 – 2x friends only posts

20 Comments on “Tooting my horn.. and yours too…”

  1. steph5628 says:

    I am a stay at home mom. I breastfeed. I attend playdates and play with her and plan fun things for my daughter to do. I kiss and hug her all the time.

  2. steph5628 says:

    I am a stay at home mom. I breastfeed. I attend playdates and play with her and plan fun things for my daughter to do. I kiss and hug her all the time.

  3. cathrynapple says:

    I have sacrificed dairy to keep my breastfed daughter comfortable. I manage to smile at her EVERY time she wakes up in the middle of the night, every time her diaper blows out, and every time she’s thrown up on my shoulder. I have learned to make awesome meals out of the cheapest ingredients so that we can close on a real house for her next month. I have completely stopped body snarking myself to make her less likely to criticize her own body.

  4. cathrynapple says:

    I have sacrificed dairy to keep my breastfed daughter comfortable. I manage to smile at her EVERY time she wakes up in the middle of the night, every time her diaper blows out, and every time she’s thrown up on my shoulder. I have learned to make awesome meals out of the cheapest ingredients so that we can close on a real house for her next month. I have completely stopped body snarking myself to make her less likely to criticize her own body.

  5. photogfrog says:

    Not a parent, but I like to think I am a damn good, dedicated teacher. I plan a lot for my kids and try to keep it interesting.
    I am a good wife too because I make sure our house and home is comfy for him and us together. I’m not working full time which means I have time to make sure food is prepped and done and when he comes home, there is little to do so he can unwind.

  6. photogfrog says:

    Not a parent, but I like to think I am a damn good, dedicated teacher. I plan a lot for my kids and try to keep it interesting.
    I am a good wife too because I make sure our house and home is comfy for him and us together. I’m not working full time which means I have time to make sure food is prepped and done and when he comes home, there is little to do so he can unwind.

  7. fiercekitty says:

    I’m a pretty selfish, career-oriented person. My motives are all centred around my own happiness, not the happiness of others. I am scared I won’t be able to turn that off if I ever decide to have kids.

  8. fiercekitty says:

    I’m a pretty selfish, career-oriented person. My motives are all centred around my own happiness, not the happiness of others. I am scared I won’t be able to turn that off if I ever decide to have kids.

  9. metahara says:

    You are a great mom
    So am I. Right now, while my son is working with his shadow, dabbling n the seedier side of life and not utilizing his gifts, skills and upbringing in a way I would appreciate more, I am still a great mom. I chose my son; he was a surprise. I stepped up to the plate, researched pregnancy and early child development, schooling, the creative mind, etc. I did it so well that other parents asked me help with their kids and with their parenting skills.
    Even while exploring the shadow, my son is still an amazing artist and a shaman of sorts. This is part of his path as an adult. That I’m a great mom comes in handy when he has had enough shadow play and comes back into the light full force. He has a strong Foundation.
    He had an incredible, adventurous, blessed, healthy, happy, cultured, informed and intentional childhood. His adult life is even more amazing, starting by working with the trickster energy and moving into abundance with ease.
    What people haven’t explained clearly enough about motherhood, is that it doesn’t get easier at one age or another, it’s just different. there is ease and there are challenges to every phase of child development and adulthood. I’m a great problem solver, I’m motivated, creative and intelligent, so
    yeah
    I’m a great mom, too.

  10. metahara says:

    You are a great mom
    So am I. Right now, while my son is working with his shadow, dabbling n the seedier side of life and not utilizing his gifts, skills and upbringing in a way I would appreciate more, I am still a great mom. I chose my son; he was a surprise. I stepped up to the plate, researched pregnancy and early child development, schooling, the creative mind, etc. I did it so well that other parents asked me help with their kids and with their parenting skills.
    Even while exploring the shadow, my son is still an amazing artist and a shaman of sorts. This is part of his path as an adult. That I’m a great mom comes in handy when he has had enough shadow play and comes back into the light full force. He has a strong Foundation.
    He had an incredible, adventurous, blessed, healthy, happy, cultured, informed and intentional childhood. His adult life is even more amazing, starting by working with the trickster energy and moving into abundance with ease.
    What people haven’t explained clearly enough about motherhood, is that it doesn’t get easier at one age or another, it’s just different. there is ease and there are challenges to every phase of child development and adulthood. I’m a great problem solver, I’m motivated, creative and intelligent, so
    yeah
    I’m a great mom, too.

  11. Anonymous says:

    I think I’m an awesome mom because I listen to my child when she explains what she thinks or how she feels about stuff — especially when I’m not in favour of her doing something and she does her best to convince me in a rational manner why I should change my mind. I’ve made it a point to make sure she knows she can always talk to me about anything and that I’ll always be in her corner

  12. Anonymous says:

    I think I’m an awesome mom because I listen to my child when she explains what she thinks or how she feels about stuff — especially when I’m not in favour of her doing something and she does her best to convince me in a rational manner why I should change my mind. I’ve made it a point to make sure she knows she can always talk to me about anything and that I’ll always be in her corner

  13. Anonymous says:

    Good for you.
    I think people often focus on the 1 thing they did wrong or failed at rather than the 99 things they did right.
    If your boy is happy and healthy and growing then you are indeed a great mom.
    Consider your back patted.

  14. Anonymous says:

    Good for you.
    I think people often focus on the 1 thing they did wrong or failed at rather than the 99 things they did right.
    If your boy is happy and healthy and growing then you are indeed a great mom.
    Consider your back patted.


Leave a Reply

