tooty fruity

 I don’t think there is anything like this in Ottawa so I’m going to write about a FABULOUS thing that is going on in Toronto that I am TOTALLY jealous of.

It’s a ‘service’ that will come to your property and pick your edible plants for you. You get 1/3 of the harvest, the pickers get 1/3 and the last third goes to feed those in need. WIN WIN WIN. Basically you just register and you detail what kind of tree you have.  I wonder if they would do things like grape vines and raspberry bushes too. It’s not clear from the website.
 I have an apple tree that goes totally to waste because:

  1. I don’t know how to care for it in a way that prevents bug holes
  2. I can’t reach most of it
  3. I generally don’t know when they are ready to pick

Do any of you know if Ottawa has anything like this? If not, how hard would it be to organize such a thing? Would any of you be willing to join me in such a venture?

How do you suggest I keep my apples from being mauled by insects?

On this day:

In 2008 – tube top
In 2007 -racism
In 2006 – ANGRY LETTER!
In 2005 – 

8 Comments on “tooty fruity”

  1. fader_star says:

    wow. i totally read that too fast and thought you wrote ‘edible pants’

  2. fader_star says:

    wow. i totally read that too fast and thought you wrote ‘edible pants’

  3. Anonymous says:

    Maintaining a healthy fruit tree takes a lot of work. You need to prune in the fall, fertilize the tree, keep the area around the tree clear of fallen apples and other debris, spray the tree when blossoms first appear and then once or twice as the apples grow. The spray and fertilizer can be made yourself or bought from organic gardening centers. They’ll also be able to tell you exactly what you need depending on the type of insect your tree’s infested with. Most usually it’s apple maggots, especially if there are “bug holes” in the apples.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Maintaining a healthy fruit tree takes a lot of work. You need to prune in the fall, fertilize the tree, keep the area around the tree clear of fallen apples and other debris, spray the tree when blossoms first appear and then once or twice as the apples grow. The spray and fertilizer can be made yourself or bought from organic gardening centers. They’ll also be able to tell you exactly what you need depending on the type of insect your tree’s infested with. Most usually it’s apple maggots, especially if there are “bug holes” in the apples.

  5. Anonymous says:

    I don’t know if my previous comment went through, but I forgot to add that these guys will harvest your goodies for you: http://www.vegetablepatch.ca/

  6. Anonymous says:

    I don’t know if my previous comment went through, but I forgot to add that these guys will harvest your goodies for you: http://www.vegetablepatch.ca/


Leave a Reply

