Possibly the worst day ever?

 Between taking care of the baby, trying not to die from the humidity and trying to rest since I only got 4 hours of sleep (not in a row) I spent the entire day getting stuff ready for our trip to Toronto to go to the zoo tomorrow.

The plan:

  1. do all the laundry so I can pack properly
  2. pack human stuff and dog stuff
  3. load our car with Brent’s hockey stuff, the stroller and our clothes
  4. Brent drives to his parent’s, switches cars and takes all the stuff in his dad’s car with him to his hockey game
  5. I get Bobby bathed and ready for bed
  6. Brent’s parents come pick me up in my car
  7. I load the car with the dogs, their stuff, the baby, car-stuff for the baby and car stuff for me
  8. we drop the dogs off at 

     ‘s with me riding in the back with 2 dogs and a baby (sounds like LOADS of fun right?)

  9. we continue on to Brent’s hockey game where we now put the stroller and luggage back in our car (now that the dog stuff is gone to make room)
  10. Brent finishes his game and SHOWERS
  11. Brent’s dad drives home with Brent’s hockey stuff
  12. We drive to Toronto, Brent’s mom in tow because she was apparent;y going anyway and this saves her a train ticket.

THEN, Brent’s knee was acting up so playing hockey was not such a good idea anymore… new plan

  1. do all the laundry so I can pack properly
  2. pack human stuff and dog stuff
  3. I get Bobby ready for bed
  4. Brent packs the car with the stroller, luggage, dog stuff and car-trip stuff (holy not a lot of room left in the car!
  5. We pick up Brent’s mom, add her stuff to the car
  6. we drop the dogs off at 

     ‘s with me riding in the back with 2 dogs, a baby and a crap load of stuff (sounds like LOADS of fun right?)

  7. we drive to Toronto

Yay! Much more simple!

THEN Brent’s boss calls and says that even though Brent is on vacation, there is a super important conference call that Brent needs to be on tomorrow and he needs to connect to it online as well, at exactly the time we are supposed to be at the zoo.  And it actually is super important and Brent agrees that it must be done.

New plan:

  1. same as above but we go to the zoo with out Brent
  2. I cry and cry

That plan was scratched within 30 seconds

Then came hours of trying to finangle things.

Let me just state that the call from the boss came 2 hours before it was time to really put things in motion and it just CUTS to have all your plans changed like that.

So now, the new (and hopefully final)

  1. finish packing
  2. sleep at home tonight
  3. Brent does the conference call at home
  4. we pack the car with all the stuff as above
  5. we drop the dogs off for Brent’s poor father to care for (he already has 3 dogs!) and trade them for Brent’s mom
  6. we drive to Toronto and go to the Zoo on Wednesday instead.

My shoulders are so tense right now!!!

I really HATE changing travel plans.  I rally hate having last minute, or ambiguous travel plans.  Really, I wish that I had floor plans for all destinations to which I have never previously been because I just like to know what to expect so today was HELL.

I gonna go drink some ice water and watch Freaks and Geeks and be in bed by 10pm.

On this day:

In 2008 – 
In 2007 – 
In 2006 – racism and religious/spiritual belief (two posts that should really go hand in hand)
In 2005 – my coworker peed on his foot

2 Comments on “Possibly the worst day ever?”

  1. lola_70 says:

    I’m sorry to hear that all that shitty stuff happened. I hope this last plan works out for you guys!

  2. lola_70 says:

    I’m sorry to hear that all that shitty stuff happened. I hope this last plan works out for you guys!


Leave a Reply

