Caffeine and I

 I stopped drinking coffee the day I found out I was pregnant (November 11th 2007). It wasn’t hard to do. I didn’t really want it anymore due to nausea etc.  When I was craving to warm tummy hugs coffee offered, I’d have a hot chocolate which only has 5mg of caffeine.

After giving birth, I still stayed away from it because I was (and still am to a certain extent) nursing. As time went on I figured why bother starting up again and getting hooked on it since I clearly do not need it in my life.  So lately I’ve been getting decaffeinated drinks or half decaf/half hot chocolate.

Today I went to the coffee shop and they said I’d have to wait as the decaf was just brewing and I went "Oh what the heck? HALF a regular coffee can’t kill me!"

I’ve always been and advocate for the FACT that when you continuously consume something, you are not aware of what it does to you. But when you stop for a prolonged period of time and then re-introduce it, you will find out what it does to you.  I’ve experienced this with meat, tobacco, refined sugars and now… caffeine.

About an hour after having finished my drink, my stomach felt weird.  I don’t even know how to explain it. I felt shaky and worst of all, I was feeling SWEATY.  Most notably in my knee pits and crelbows.  It was just horrible! And that was HALF of a medium coffee!!! GOOD LORD!  And the supposed rush before the yuck? Totally not worth it.  Or was the gross part supposed to be the rush?

I think it’s obvious that I’m not going to have caffeine any more.

On this day:

In 2008 – an ode to the Cosby show
In 2007 – garden pie recipe – totally invented by me
In 2006 – excited about going to see Van Morrisson – little did I know…
In 2005 – nostalgic about those paper prints. I think I gave them to Diana???

6 Comments on “Caffeine and I”

  1. I stopped drinking caffeine when I found out I was pregnant too. I never drank that much– green tea in the mornings and sodas on long, hot days. A couple weeks ago I went to a cafe and asked if their chai lattes had caffeine in them, and the chick assured me they did not. When it got to my table, though, it had a big ol’ bag of black tea in it (which I’ve never seen in a chai latte before)! I figured one little cup won’t hurt me or the baby, but as soon as I finished it, I got the mother of all headaches. It lasted for days! I know a lot of people self-medicate with caffeine when they get headaches, so that was quite weird I thought.

  2. I stopped drinking caffeine when I found out I was pregnant too. I never drank that much– green tea in the mornings and sodas on long, hot days. A couple weeks ago I went to a cafe and asked if their chai lattes had caffeine in them, and the chick assured me they did not. When it got to my table, though, it had a big ol’ bag of black tea in it (which I’ve never seen in a chai latte before)! I figured one little cup won’t hurt me or the baby, but as soon as I finished it, I got the mother of all headaches. It lasted for days! I know a lot of people self-medicate with caffeine when they get headaches, so that was quite weird I thought.

  3. rachaeldoss says:

    I can and do use caffeine as a drug because I generally avoid it. When I made my own cold brew coffee so I could have a yummy coffee drink whenever I wanted, I forgot that it makes a CONCENTRATE and poured myself a big cup of CONCENTRATE with some cream.
    Woah.
    I went caffeine free for the first time yesterday in about a week and felt totally different.
    My problem is that now that I have that CONCENTRATE in my fridge, I feel badly not using it so I have to use it up before I can go back to no caffeine. But at least now I know to cut it at least in half with water. LOL

  4. rachaeldoss says:

    I can and do use caffeine as a drug because I generally avoid it. When I made my own cold brew coffee so I could have a yummy coffee drink whenever I wanted, I forgot that it makes a CONCENTRATE and poured myself a big cup of CONCENTRATE with some cream.
    Woah.
    I went caffeine free for the first time yesterday in about a week and felt totally different.
    My problem is that now that I have that CONCENTRATE in my fridge, I feel badly not using it so I have to use it up before I can go back to no caffeine. But at least now I know to cut it at least in half with water. LOL

  5. word. after not eating meat and milk and cheese and oils for about two months i realized how disgusting and bloated i always felt when i DID eat those things. when i ate them again i felt like id swallowed a brick.
    i now drink milk and eat cheese again but i dont binge on tostitos, anything that has a lot of sodium (i like things fresh), or anything that makes me feel crudy.
    im not even joking, i was bloated and miserable all the effin time back in the day.
    with coffee….i think one gets used to it….and you hadn’t had it in a while so you got a very intense reaction.
    my mom is ridiculous. she asks “what’s with this vegetables crap? only drink milk and eat vegetables. dumb shit.” and she buys the worst food ever. exclusively canned soup, bologna, salami, chicken, bread….that’s it. what the hell, right?

  6. word. after not eating meat and milk and cheese and oils for about two months i realized how disgusting and bloated i always felt when i DID eat those things. when i ate them again i felt like id swallowed a brick.
    i now drink milk and eat cheese again but i dont binge on tostitos, anything that has a lot of sodium (i like things fresh), or anything that makes me feel crudy.
    im not even joking, i was bloated and miserable all the effin time back in the day.
    with coffee….i think one gets used to it….and you hadn’t had it in a while so you got a very intense reaction.
    my mom is ridiculous. she asks “what’s with this vegetables crap? only drink milk and eat vegetables. dumb shit.” and she buys the worst food ever. exclusively canned soup, bologna, salami, chicken, bread….that’s it. what the hell, right?


Leave a Reply

