fluffernutter

 I’m going to sign up for a gym membership.  Did your eyes just fall out of your head? Yeah. I’m surprised too.

This decision has come from a culmination of a few events:

1- I haven’t stepped on the scale since I went back to work.  I did on Saturday and I was nearly 7lbs lighter.  WHAAAA?  So if eating a little better does that, a little exercise wouldn’t hurt.  It’s weird how randomly losing weight is more motivational to me than feeling like a fluffernutter.

2- Did you know that naughty_bride moved back to town? Well she did, and she looks hot.  As best friends, it’s my obligation to try and look hotter.  OK OK that’s not really the reason (or is it?).  She was talking about how she used to go to the gym after work and you know what, if she can do it, I can do it.

3- There are 2 gyms on campus and as an employee, I get a wicked good deal on a membership.  One gym is really nice and costs $24/month and the other gym is sort of nice and costs $12/month.  I’m leaning towards the nicer one because the showers are WAY newer.

So those three items are my motivation.  Now for the stumbling blocks.

1- I’m actually mega broke right now even though I’m back at work.  Day care costs an arm and a leg and we went into some debt when I was on unpaid leave so we’re focusing on paying that off.  It will be better when Bobby changes daycares because that will save us about $600 per month. So even though the actual membership cost is not much, I will wait until Bobby switches daycare to sign up (end of August)

2- I have no workout gear.  This sucks because of the previous point.  Things I need are:

  • a sports bra
  • work out top and bottoms (any suggestions?)
  • cross trainers (open to suggestions on kinds)
  • small towel (I only have giant beach style ones which I don’t want to lug around)
  • sweat socks

On this day:

In 2008 – 
In 2007 – I call bullshit on the use of the term ‘guys’
In 2006 – looosing my religion, trying to keep. an eye. on you.
In 2005 – NOT gyrating my ass since 2005

3- I would have to go on my lunch break because I’m not willing to extend the amount of time I am away from home, Bobby is only awake until 7 and I don’t want to miss out on those few hours.  Since I’m pretty sure I’ll get sweaty, this means I’ll have to shower (no big deal) and probably wash my hair.  This is where the issue comes in. I’m a hair dryer snob and I will NOT let my hair air dry so I’ll have to bring my hair dryer from home and just the fact that I will have to wash and blow dry will significantly reduce my workout time.  MAybe my head won’t get sweaty and I could do a body-only shower?

14 Comments on “fluffernutter”

  1. lumpy_lia says:

    Mountain Equipment Coop has the best sports bras on the planet. Let me find the link . . .
    Here it is!
    http://www.mec.ca/Products/product_detail.jsp?PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524442622258&FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=2534374302883192&bmUID=1248770974627
    I have about 6 of them.

  2. lumpy_lia says:

    Mountain Equipment Coop has the best sports bras on the planet. Let me find the link . . .
    Here it is!
    http://www.mec.ca/Products/product_detail.jsp?PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524442622258&FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=2534374302883192&bmUID=1248770974627
    I have about 6 of them.

  3. Anonymous says:

    1. You can get some pretty decent work-out gear at Giant Tiger for very little money. (sports bra, tops, bottoms, socks, etc.) That will do until you’re rolling in dough again. A woman at our gym uses Christmas dish towels for her “sweat rag”. That was such a good idea that we all started bringing in our Christmas dish towels. (You know, those Christmas themed dish towels you get at Christmas from people who don’t know what else to give you and you stuff them away in a cupboard somewhere?) The shoes you’ll probably have to spend some money on if you’re doing a lot of impact work; if not, any old shoe will do.
    As for the lunchtime shower – people at work here, don’t bother — the guys do, but the women don’t want to wash their hair and re-do their make-up so they just tie their hair back or up during the work out and wash their armpits at the sink, put on fresh deodorant, towel off and put on their workclothes again. Then they shower when they get home. It’s only a couple of hours and it saves lots of time.

    • tianadargent says:

      The clothes suggestion is good although I think since I won’t be starting until the end of August I’ll be able to buy a bit of better quality stuff. I use my dishtowels to mop up baby goo 🙂
      The thing about the shower is that my hair isn’t long enough to tie up, so it WILL look sweaty. It doesn’t take long to blow dry it really since my blow dryer is pretty much a jet engine.
      I figure if I go in to work 15 minutes earlier in the morning, I can spend that extra 15 minutes on the shower/blow dry later in the day and come out even.

    • tianadargent says:

      The clothes suggestion is good although I think since I won’t be starting until the end of August I’ll be able to buy a bit of better quality stuff. I use my dishtowels to mop up baby goo 🙂
      The thing about the shower is that my hair isn’t long enough to tie up, so it WILL look sweaty. It doesn’t take long to blow dry it really since my blow dryer is pretty much a jet engine.
      I figure if I go in to work 15 minutes earlier in the morning, I can spend that extra 15 minutes on the shower/blow dry later in the day and come out even.

  4. Anonymous says:

    1. You can get some pretty decent work-out gear at Giant Tiger for very little money. (sports bra, tops, bottoms, socks, etc.) That will do until you’re rolling in dough again. A woman at our gym uses Christmas dish towels for her “sweat rag”. That was such a good idea that we all started bringing in our Christmas dish towels. (You know, those Christmas themed dish towels you get at Christmas from people who don’t know what else to give you and you stuff them away in a cupboard somewhere?) The shoes you’ll probably have to spend some money on if you’re doing a lot of impact work; if not, any old shoe will do.
    As for the lunchtime shower – people at work here, don’t bother — the guys do, but the women don’t want to wash their hair and re-do their make-up so they just tie their hair back or up during the work out and wash their armpits at the sink, put on fresh deodorant, towel off and put on their workclothes again. Then they shower when they get home. It’s only a couple of hours and it saves lots of time.

  5. Anonymous says:

    clothes
    For the past two years I have had gym clothes from Joe Fresh (available at Superstore) and they’ve surprised me in terms of how well they’ve stood up to frequent washings. (Tho’ I always line-dry.)
    andrea

    • tianadargent says:

      Re: clothes
      Yeah I was thinking of going there. I think I’d get the sports bra elsewhere because I don’t really want to skimp there but Joe has decent sportswear.

    • tianadargent says:

      Re: clothes
      Yeah I was thinking of going there. I think I’d get the sports bra elsewhere because I don’t really want to skimp there but Joe has decent sportswear.

  6. Anonymous says:

    clothes
    For the past two years I have had gym clothes from Joe Fresh (available at Superstore) and they’ve surprised me in terms of how well they’ve stood up to frequent washings. (Tho’ I always line-dry.)
    andrea


Leave a Reply

