THE INTERNET IS MAKING MY HEAD HURT!!!!

 Ok so I’m trying to set up a blog for a secret reason but I only have experience setting up some like this one, or one on blogger so I’m WAY OUT OF MY DEPTH here trying to do one on it’s own url.

ANYWAY…

I’m using wordpress and I can’t even get further than downloading it because I can’t figure out how to edit the mother fucking php file on my mac.  It open in Opera (which I didn’t even know existed on my computer) and I can’t change anything.  What the hell???

So then I look at it as an opportunity to teach myself so I’m googling things like "how to edit a .php file on  a mac" etc. and everything that came up was all computer nerdy and made me more confused.

I don’t want to be defeated by this but… I’m starting to feel defeated.

*sigh*

{EDIT} trying this NIFTY program called textedit o_0

On this day:

In 2008 – 
In 2007 – my wicked bad ass birth mark
In 2006 – a good entry, f-locked
In 2005 – 

24 Comments on “THE INTERNET IS MAKING MY HEAD HURT!!!!”

  1. rachaeldoss says:

    You cannot announce that you are starting a secret blog and not expect someone to say, “HEY! SECRET?? WHAT IS IT?!?!”
    Because now I’m just going to assume you are pregnant again. :-p

  2. rachaeldoss says:

    You cannot announce that you are starting a secret blog and not expect someone to say, “HEY! SECRET?? WHAT IS IT?!?!”
    Because now I’m just going to assume you are pregnant again. :-p

  3. lumpy_lia says:

    text edit is fun! wordpress is rad too. If you want help setting it up (wp) I can put you in touch with Jeff from my work. He is rad.

    • tianadargent says:

      things are going much better right now, but there is key info I need to get from my sysadmin before I can proceed further and I can’t get that until Monday at the earliest.

    • tianadargent says:

      things are going much better right now, but there is key info I need to get from my sysadmin before I can proceed further and I can’t get that until Monday at the earliest.

  4. lumpy_lia says:

    text edit is fun! wordpress is rad too. If you want help setting it up (wp) I can put you in touch with Jeff from my work. He is rad.

  5. nyxie says:

    I’ve installed wordpress a bunch of times, so I may be able to help you.
    Two quick questions:
    – Do you have webspace/web hosting? If so, who is your provider?
    – Do you have a URL picked out? You don’t have to tell me what it is if that ruins a surprise or something, but I just need to know you have something purchased and ready to use.

    • tianadargent says:

      My provider is the company I’m making it for, they are setting up an intranet, and the URL is chosen but hasn’t been created/approved yet.

      • nyxie says:

        Gotcha.
        The reason why I asked about web hosting is that a lot of the more popular providers have a ‘one click install’ feature, so you just go in and click ‘install wordpress for me’ and it does it. This of course doesn’t apply to your situation.
        The thing about wordpress is it is intended to be installed after you’ve got your URL up and running. You can install it on your own laptop but it won’t really function correctly, especially if you don’t have PHP and MySQL installed. Plus you need to create a database in MySQL for the installation, which you wouldn’t be able to do on your laptop (unless you have MySQL installed).
        If it were me, I’d wait until the company had approved the URL and then make sure I have access to the web server and that both PHP and MySQL are available there. Then I’d do the steps from the WordPress 5 minute install, which I assume you’ve been looking at since you mentioned you’re trying to edit a PHP file on your laptop.
        Not sure if that helps or not… you may already have proper access to the web server in question and may already be trying all that. 🙂

      • nyxie says:

        Gotcha.
        The reason why I asked about web hosting is that a lot of the more popular providers have a ‘one click install’ feature, so you just go in and click ‘install wordpress for me’ and it does it. This of course doesn’t apply to your situation.
        The thing about wordpress is it is intended to be installed after you’ve got your URL up and running. You can install it on your own laptop but it won’t really function correctly, especially if you don’t have PHP and MySQL installed. Plus you need to create a database in MySQL for the installation, which you wouldn’t be able to do on your laptop (unless you have MySQL installed).
        If it were me, I’d wait until the company had approved the URL and then make sure I have access to the web server and that both PHP and MySQL are available there. Then I’d do the steps from the WordPress 5 minute install, which I assume you’ve been looking at since you mentioned you’re trying to edit a PHP file on your laptop.
        Not sure if that helps or not… you may already have proper access to the web server in question and may already be trying all that. 🙂

    • tianadargent says:

      My provider is the company I’m making it for, they are setting up an intranet, and the URL is chosen but hasn’t been created/approved yet.

  6. nyxie says:

    I’ve installed wordpress a bunch of times, so I may be able to help you.
    Two quick questions:
    – Do you have webspace/web hosting? If so, who is your provider?
    – Do you have a URL picked out? You don’t have to tell me what it is if that ruins a surprise or something, but I just need to know you have something purchased and ready to use.

  7. Anonymous says:

    oooooOOOOhhh… secret reasons…. it was really easy when I switched to WordPress. I’m the most impatient and ignorant person in the world with stuff like this. I don’t even know what php is, but I’m looking forward to the secret reason blog. (Check with Zoom — she’s the WordPress Queen)

  8. Anonymous says:

    oooooOOOOhhh… secret reasons…. it was really easy when I switched to WordPress. I’m the most impatient and ignorant person in the world with stuff like this. I don’t even know what php is, but I’m looking forward to the secret reason blog. (Check with Zoom — she’s the WordPress Queen)

  9. clivec says:

    I feel your pain (see my earlier post about outsmarting myself).
    I have had good luck using blogspot. I get the easy of using a blog (I’m terrible at HTML) while getting a pretty professional looking page. You do need to throw in a few additions, such as the command to take away the big blogspot banner on top, but everything is on the internet and most of it was cut and pastings. Then it was just a matter of redirecting it to my url.
    I’ve heard good things about wordpress. I wish you luck.

  10. clivec says:

    I feel your pain (see my earlier post about outsmarting myself).
    I have had good luck using blogspot. I get the easy of using a blog (I’m terrible at HTML) while getting a pretty professional looking page. You do need to throw in a few additions, such as the command to take away the big blogspot banner on top, but everything is on the internet and most of it was cut and pastings. Then it was just a matter of redirecting it to my url.
    I’ve heard good things about wordpress. I wish you luck.


Leave a Reply

