A post about being a stupid teenager.

 I moved to Ottawa between grades 10 and 11.   I went from going to French Catholic school to English public school.  The differences in the social interactions were vast.

Shortly after starting school I met this guy and he was very friendly.  We hung out a fair amount, mostly with his friends as well and it was all very fun and such.  I liked him but also felt awkward about being in a new city and not really feeling like I fit anywhere.   A few weeks later I remember having lunch outside the school and a couple of his friends were there and they asked me if I liked him and wanted to date him.

Of course I did! But what did I say to them?  Something along the lines of "No not really".  Obviously he stopped calling me and we lost touch until a couple of years later he came into the store where I was working to try on shoes.  Half way through he did the whole "Do I know you from somewhere?" thing.  UGH

Anyways I guess the whole point was that at that time in my life, I was so guarded about my feeling for fear of being judged by them.  Like "OMG you LIKE him??? Well HE doesn’t like YOU HAHAHAHA!"  Not that these people would have done that but that was pretty much my entire internal monologue until I was about 23 years old.  So I played all my cards close to the chest.

I wonder what my life would have turned out to be had I not been so socially inept as a teenager (although all teenagers are socially inept to varying degrees I’m certain).  Not that I wish for a different life by any means.  I know that I am where I am today because of every single moment of my past.

On this day:

In 2008 – it was a perfect swimming day, just like today but today I have no car and no one to go with.
In 2007 – I still use the same shampoo but I switched to the honey hair conditioner because it smells so awesome
In 2006 – hahaha I love comics!
In 2005 – the door thing still happens all too often

18 Comments on “A post about being a stupid teenager.”

  1. lianna says:

    weird. i moved to ottawa for grade 11 as well, from an english school to one where french was spoken well, and french class was completely in french! (unknown to us from further west in ontario! needless to say i dropped the class)
    had PLENTY of teenage ineptness and angst (and drugs) during my years in ottawa. had to move back home (near toronto) to really ground myself again, and grow the f up! lol.

    • tianadargent says:

      I came from Richmond Hill and went to school in Aurora! Where did you go?

      • lianna says:

        I came from Port Hope (small town 1 hr east of TO) to Richmond Rd. in Ottawa at 16. Stupid 16 year old decision, had to work full time at the Becker’s on Richmond Rd and school full time. ugh. Went to Woodruffe High School (Nepean High was closer but they had no room for me) , then Carleton U.
        I never did get back into a French class. πŸ˜‰

      • lianna says:

        I came from Port Hope (small town 1 hr east of TO) to Richmond Rd. in Ottawa at 16. Stupid 16 year old decision, had to work full time at the Becker’s on Richmond Rd and school full time. ugh. Went to Woodruffe High School (Nepean High was closer but they had no room for me) , then Carleton U.
        I never did get back into a French class. πŸ˜‰

      • lianna says:

        have you lived in Ottawa ever since? i also worked at the Italian pastry shop on Preston for a couple of years while in Univ.

        • tianadargent says:

          OH those macaroons! Yeah I have, after high school I didn’t want to leave!

          • lianna says:

            Cool πŸ™‚ Yea, I’ll be getting a treat or three there when I visit in August. My girlfriend (the one i moved from Port Hope with way back in the day – she never left) is getting married. I want to cruise the Market again and get a beaver tail. πŸ™‚

          • lianna says:

            Cool πŸ™‚ Yea, I’ll be getting a treat or three there when I visit in August. My girlfriend (the one i moved from Port Hope with way back in the day – she never left) is getting married. I want to cruise the Market again and get a beaver tail. πŸ™‚

        • tianadargent says:

          OH those macaroons! Yeah I have, after high school I didn’t want to leave!

      • lianna says:

        have you lived in Ottawa ever since? i also worked at the Italian pastry shop on Preston for a couple of years while in Univ.

    • tianadargent says:

      I came from Richmond Hill and went to school in Aurora! Where did you go?

  2. lianna says:

    weird. i moved to ottawa for grade 11 as well, from an english school to one where french was spoken well, and french class was completely in french! (unknown to us from further west in ontario! needless to say i dropped the class)
    had PLENTY of teenage ineptness and angst (and drugs) during my years in ottawa. had to move back home (near toronto) to really ground myself again, and grow the f up! lol.

  3. fiercekitty says:

    I often wonder about this too. I always feel like I’m being a LOT more open than I am actually being.

  4. fiercekitty says:

    I often wonder about this too. I always feel like I’m being a LOT more open than I am actually being.

  5. Anonymous says:

    I was like that too. Played my cards really close to the chest as a kid. I was shy. No confidence. Made things much worse for myself than they had to be, especially socially. Thank god I outgrew it.
    zoom

  6. Anonymous says:

    I was like that too. Played my cards really close to the chest as a kid. I was shy. No confidence. Made things much worse for myself than they had to be, especially socially. Thank god I outgrew it.
    zoom

  7. clivec says:

    It is amazing what we will say … or not say out of fear. I spent the first half of my life not speaking to girls period.

  8. clivec says:

    It is amazing what we will say … or not say out of fear. I spent the first half of my life not speaking to girls period.


Leave a Reply

