This is only partly about feces

 Yesterday I was giving Bobby a bath and he started making the face.  I figured, rather than clean out a tub to poopy water and re-bathe him, I’d plop him on the potty and see what happens.

I pulled him out of the tub, wrapped a blanket around him and immediately started reading him a bath book.  4 short pages later I picked him up was was impressed that he dropped a deuce in there along with some pee.  (I don’t think I’ve ever NOT peed when pooping was involved, how about you?)  I obviously took a photo (next months update will be spectacular) and called people to brag.

So I mentioned it at work today and one coworker seemed a little horrified.  She then said something along the lines of (obviously paraphrasing) "You don’t want to start that this early! It will make him hate the toilet!!!"  Doesn’t that seem a little insane?  It’s not like I put him on there and proclaim he must sit there until he poops!  

Moving on to tonight.  It was bath time and I got Bobby all nekkid.  I decided to sit him on the potty before putting him in the tub just to see how he’d react.  I sat him down and started reading the same book.   One page in and he peed in the potty!  I cheered him on but I don’t think he even knew he peed so he probably figured I was cheering myself for having read a sentence.

I figure, I’m not forcing anything and the more he gets used to sitting there and getting positive reactions when he eliminates into the potty (whether he knows that’s what he’s doing or not) the better.  He loves books and I practically read him 50 stories a day (now that I work all day, before it was closer to a billion) so I now plan on reading him a book on the potty right before his bath on a daily basis.  I’ll take him off as soon as he seems unhappy and just plop him in the tub that will be ready and waiting.

CHANGE OF TOPIC

I have a PC at work and I need a cool wallpaper for it.  I TEND not to like photographs because I feel bad putting stuff on them (icons) so I like to use images that look like workspaces. work surfaces.  I used to have a great site for this bookmarked on my work computer but they upgraded my hardware while I was away and I lost all my bookmarks SO, what wallpaper or wallpaper site do YOU suggest.

{If graph paper were a person, I would totally have relations with it, so obviously right now I’m going to google-fu some graph paper inspire desktops}

EDIT:  I CAN NOT FIND A GRAPH PAPER DESKTOP!!!!  I don’t have the patience to make one now. I would LOVE one that is the green grid on white where there are big squares at a thicker line weight with 5 rows and columns of thinner line weight squares within … you know, if you aren’t busy.

On this day:

In 2008 – 
In 2007 – and that was when I decided to stop eating meat (also, this year’s strawberries still aren’t out and I’ve decided to go with moss)
In 2006 – 
In 2005 – 

18 Comments on “This is only partly about feces”

  1. From what I’ve read, putting them on the pot when they’re likely to need to go actually speeds up the potty training process. And if you can save yourself a couple diaper changes in the process, why the hell not?

  2. From what I’ve read, putting them on the pot when they’re likely to need to go actually speeds up the potty training process. And if you can save yourself a couple diaper changes in the process, why the hell not?

  3. clivec says:

    Congradulation on his early movement of the bowels.

  4. clivec says:

    Congradulation on his early movement of the bowels.

  5. lianna says:

    good thinking mama, better earlier than later. kudos to the little gaffer too 🙂
    btw, meant to comment earlier, you made a great owl cake for his bday! loved it – my son’s nursery is owl themed so i’m all YAY for owls lately. 🙂

  6. lianna says:

    good thinking mama, better earlier than later. kudos to the little gaffer too 🙂
    btw, meant to comment earlier, you made a great owl cake for his bday! loved it – my son’s nursery is owl themed so i’m all YAY for owls lately. 🙂

  7. cathrynapple says:

    That’s elimination communication. Good for him! I don’t think there’s anything disturbing about it at all. You avoided cleaning up a gross mess and he’s obviously NOT uncomfortable with the potty.

  8. cathrynapple says:

    That’s elimination communication. Good for him! I don’t think there’s anything disturbing about it at all. You avoided cleaning up a gross mess and he’s obviously NOT uncomfortable with the potty.

  9. your co-worker is weird.
    i remember that when i was about that age or 2 i could tell that i HAD to poop but i couldnt feel it coming out of my butt (thus couldnt really control it), so i often ended up with undies soiled. 😦
    i mean, at that point, now that i think about it, i didn’t really know what poop was or know what was happening when i HAD to poop so i just let it happen. as i started to understand it better, i began using the toilet.
    i have a really vivid poop memory that i wont talk about but it sticks out singularly in my mind because i really liked those underwear and was sad that they got soiled.

  10. your co-worker is weird.
    i remember that when i was about that age or 2 i could tell that i HAD to poop but i couldnt feel it coming out of my butt (thus couldnt really control it), so i often ended up with undies soiled. 😦
    i mean, at that point, now that i think about it, i didn’t really know what poop was or know what was happening when i HAD to poop so i just let it happen. as i started to understand it better, i began using the toilet.
    i have a really vivid poop memory that i wont talk about but it sticks out singularly in my mind because i really liked those underwear and was sad that they got soiled.

  11. lumpy_lia says:

    I was potty trained early and believe me, I got no hate-on for the toilet.

  12. lumpy_lia says:

    I was potty trained early and believe me, I got no hate-on for the toilet.

  13. Anonymous says:

    Order of Items
    I think you should have started out with the Desktop stuff and then put a warning that you are changing the subject to feces 🙂 Good luck on the potty training and the wallpaper.
    Medsker

  14. Anonymous says:

    Order of Items
    I think you should have started out with the Desktop stuff and then put a warning that you are changing the subject to feces 🙂 Good luck on the potty training and the wallpaper.
    Medsker


Leave a Reply

