yay my yard!

 Up until about a month ago, I really hated spending time in our back yard.  The gardens were a mess, the deck was over run with rogue bush and tree branches.  There were lots of unsightly weeds. Tyrone would poop on the deck.

I think you see where I’m going with this.

But this year Brent and I have really gotten on the ball.

First Brent built a small fence around my vegetable garden, to keep the dogs out.  It’s about 2 feet tall and is made of lattice. It’s very cute.

Then I dug out all the irises and hostas and moved them to the front yard, into two separate gardens.  They are filling in nicely and look great.

Then Brent tore out some weed patches.  There was one sort of in the middle of the yard and instead of trying to get grass to grow there (grass is such a pain in the ass) Brent dug in some edging and I planted 2 different perennials that have purple flowers.  I also found us a little gnome friend named Dwight who holds a solar charged light.  Add a little mulch and it looks great.

The other weed patch wasn’t too far from where I tore out all the other plants so I plotted out a big organically shaped garden and Brent dug in the edging, turned the soil, covered it with mulch and to finish off he surrounded the two new gardens with black rocks so they really pop.  Oh and there’s solar lights in the big garden too.

On mother’s day we went to get some plants.  I picked out a few things (blueberry bush, peonies, japanese blood grass, white hydrangias – which seem to be dying now – and something with a red flower but I forget what it’s called) and Bobby picked one for me as a gift (by pointing and grunting)

This weekend my mom got us an "outdoor room" patio set.  Her and I made a deal so this is our Christmas and Birthday presents. Brent and I both have non-summer birthdays so we never get gifted with summer stuff even though we need more of it than winter stuff.  So yay for us.  Here’s an stock photo, it doesn’t come with the end table, rug or planter.

We set it up today and I’m so excited!

We still have more we need to do, like put a railing up around the deck so that Bobby doesn’t nosedive off of it.  I also want to find some kind of nice lighting for on the deck but that will wait until the railing is up.  

Needless to say I’ve already spent a lot of time out back today!

On this day:

In 2008 – 
In 2007 – doing things the hard way
In 2006 – cartoons about pregnancy
In 2005 – WOW!  I got really upset about that didn’t I?

8 Comments on “yay my yard!”

  1. metahara says:

    that is a dream backyard! lovely!
    lucky you girl

  2. metahara says:

    that is a dream backyard! lovely!
    lucky you girl

  3. sispistol says:

    Super cute! are you worried about the rain at all tho?

  4. sispistol says:

    Super cute! are you worried about the rain at all tho?

  5. rachaeldoss says:

    Love that! It will be so nice. After Ben built our patio and we bought our furniture two falls ago on clearance, we have found we spend more and more and more time just siting out there. Last year I was sad because it was the first year it was sort of “completed” enough to enjoy and I wanted to drink frosty beverages and sip wine out on the patio but I had that dang fetus 😀 But this year I plan to do a little bit of that since I can 🙂 You will LOVE it!

  6. rachaeldoss says:

    Love that! It will be so nice. After Ben built our patio and we bought our furniture two falls ago on clearance, we have found we spend more and more and more time just siting out there. Last year I was sad because it was the first year it was sort of “completed” enough to enjoy and I wanted to drink frosty beverages and sip wine out on the patio but I had that dang fetus 😀 But this year I plan to do a little bit of that since I can 🙂 You will LOVE it!


Leave a Reply

