This irritates me so much.

 Everywhere I look, some guy is cheating on his lady.  It’s all over tv shows and treated like it’s no big deal.  The gossip magazines are all about this Jon and Kate Plus 8 ‘scandal’ and everyone is saying she deserves it.

It just makes me want to barf.

First off, nobody deserves to be treated like that. If there are problems in a relationship, the answer is not to put your dick into someone else without your partner’s knowledge.  If you have sexual problems and you NEED to put your dick into someone else, I think it’s the right thing to tell your spouse. You may get a free pass, you may get a divorce, but at least you aren’t being an amoral ass hole.

Second off, is everybody secretly cheating on each other and I didn’t get the memo?  I know I’m just working off of the media here but it seems like it’s a plot line in about every tv show or movie or book and it’s always treated like "Well OF COURSE he put his dick into someone he wasn’t supposed to put his dick into… all people with dicks do that!"  o_0  I guess it works the other way too but it’s just not that often that the plot line is a woman putting her vagina on a dick she wasn’t supposed to use.

You know, I really don’t believe monogamy is for everybody but I do think that honesty is for everybody. If you don’t want to be monogamous that’s just fine but you’d better make sure your partner feels the same way.  I would think this is one of those major things that a couple has to agree on and if non-monogamists can just take their heads out of their asses and be honest about it, a lot less people would get hurt.

Although, according to tv, no one gets hurt by being cheated on.  They just gasp and then say "I want a divorce" and have a good life about 2 seconds later.

17 Comments on “This irritates me so much.”

  1. lyndszy says:

    I find it really appalling that they are saying Kate “deserves it” because…’shes a nag’ ‘she is mean to him”etc’. I think their relationship is their own business and I even if a woman is a bitch, she doesn’t ‘deserve’ to be cheated on.
    The media can be so disgusting, it reminds me of peoples comments on Rihanna and Chris Brown and how maybe she ‘deserved’ it. “what did she do to deserve this?”
    Blah, anyways, sorry for venting in your comments.

  2. lyndszy says:

    I find it really appalling that they are saying Kate “deserves it” because…’shes a nag’ ‘she is mean to him”etc’. I think their relationship is their own business and I even if a woman is a bitch, she doesn’t ‘deserve’ to be cheated on.
    The media can be so disgusting, it reminds me of peoples comments on Rihanna and Chris Brown and how maybe she ‘deserved’ it. “what did she do to deserve this?”
    Blah, anyways, sorry for venting in your comments.

  3. rinni says:

    I agree with everything you’ve said here. The amount of “cheating as inevitable plot point” that I see makes me sick as well. I wish I had something more intelligent to add other than a thumbs-up, but I don’t really.

  4. rinni says:

    I agree with everything you’ve said here. The amount of “cheating as inevitable plot point” that I see makes me sick as well. I wish I had something more intelligent to add other than a thumbs-up, but I don’t really.

  5. cathrynapple says:

    Amen to that. I’m so fucking sick of hearing things like, “She drove him to it.” I also keeping seeing articles that say one third of husbands cheat? Is this true? My husband and I have always agreed to notify each other of issues BEFORE cheating is likely to happen. Men don’t get a free pass if a wife is “naggy.”

  6. cathrynapple says:

    Amen to that. I’m so fucking sick of hearing things like, “She drove him to it.” I also keeping seeing articles that say one third of husbands cheat? Is this true? My husband and I have always agreed to notify each other of issues BEFORE cheating is likely to happen. Men don’t get a free pass if a wife is “naggy.”

  7. Ummm what scandel? Off to google.

  8. Ummm what scandel? Off to google.

  9. rachaeldoss says:

    I think in an ideal world, people wouldn’t cheat on spouses because they would be able to tell their spouses that the relationship wasn’t working for them at that time and it made them feel like seeking comfort elsewhere. But I guess if people in relationships could talk to one another like that, no one would ever cheat.
    I’ve said openly that I couldn’t really blame Jon if he were cheating on Kate, but I guess that wording is not really exactly what I mean; I think what I mean to say is that if the relationship they have shown on their tv show is accurate, then I can see where a man would get tired of being belittled and would then seek some stroking in the form of vagina elsewhere. Of course it is not ok to cheat on your spouse and he is an ass for doing that, but I can see his motivation. Also, I think that Kate bears responsibility for how she treats Jon and that part of what made him want to seek outside affection. That does not mean I think her being a bitch makes it ok for him to cheat, but this does not seem of just a case of wandering dick disorder – this looks like a case of cause and effect cheating to me.
    And of course, I have no real idea at all because I am not them or a good friend of theirs, so it’s all speculative.
    I guess the saddest thing is that I don’t even know what shows are using cheating as a plot these days which either means I am not watching the same shows or I’ve become desensitized to it.

  10. rachaeldoss says:

    I think in an ideal world, people wouldn’t cheat on spouses because they would be able to tell their spouses that the relationship wasn’t working for them at that time and it made them feel like seeking comfort elsewhere. But I guess if people in relationships could talk to one another like that, no one would ever cheat.
    I’ve said openly that I couldn’t really blame Jon if he were cheating on Kate, but I guess that wording is not really exactly what I mean; I think what I mean to say is that if the relationship they have shown on their tv show is accurate, then I can see where a man would get tired of being belittled and would then seek some stroking in the form of vagina elsewhere. Of course it is not ok to cheat on your spouse and he is an ass for doing that, but I can see his motivation. Also, I think that Kate bears responsibility for how she treats Jon and that part of what made him want to seek outside affection. That does not mean I think her being a bitch makes it ok for him to cheat, but this does not seem of just a case of wandering dick disorder – this looks like a case of cause and effect cheating to me.
    And of course, I have no real idea at all because I am not them or a good friend of theirs, so it’s all speculative.
    I guess the saddest thing is that I don’t even know what shows are using cheating as a plot these days which either means I am not watching the same shows or I’ve become desensitized to it.

  11. metahara says:

    oh Jon and Kate, so sad. I wouldn’t blame, but instead hope that they get counseling. Wish they would have sooner, hope they weather this.
    Sad
    I’m monogamous when I’m with someone, no one else is interesting so I don’t know what goes through the mind and body of those who aren’t. I think it’s a way to feed a bruised ego, deny age and boring ness and all those things conditioning does to the mind.
    On the one hand, everyone is responsible for their actions, on the other hand, we do not live in a vaccum. We all effect eachother- especially those we share our lives with as partners.
    Affairs can be a dog, and asshole who is just the type to do that and it can also be a very loud, ugly symptom of a sick relationship that needs healing.
    I don’t think it’s OK. I don’t think that excuses it. I do think there are different factors that go into the making of the end of fidelity.
    When something like this triggers a response like this, it’s time to sit down with the spouse and talk about, “If we ever get close to this point, how do we prevent this from happening”
    In a partnership, yes you are responsible for yourself and your actions, but, not only yourself- it’s a 2 as 1 deal.
    Many argue that s an impossible thing to live up to.

  12. metahara says:

    oh Jon and Kate, so sad. I wouldn’t blame, but instead hope that they get counseling. Wish they would have sooner, hope they weather this.
    Sad
    I’m monogamous when I’m with someone, no one else is interesting so I don’t know what goes through the mind and body of those who aren’t. I think it’s a way to feed a bruised ego, deny age and boring ness and all those things conditioning does to the mind.
    On the one hand, everyone is responsible for their actions, on the other hand, we do not live in a vaccum. We all effect eachother- especially those we share our lives with as partners.
    Affairs can be a dog, and asshole who is just the type to do that and it can also be a very loud, ugly symptom of a sick relationship that needs healing.
    I don’t think it’s OK. I don’t think that excuses it. I do think there are different factors that go into the making of the end of fidelity.
    When something like this triggers a response like this, it’s time to sit down with the spouse and talk about, “If we ever get close to this point, how do we prevent this from happening”
    In a partnership, yes you are responsible for yourself and your actions, but, not only yourself- it’s a 2 as 1 deal.
    Many argue that s an impossible thing to live up to.

  13. Anonymous says:

    This is such an awesome entry.

  14. Anonymous says:

    This is such an awesome entry.

  15. Anonymous says:

    And then there are the Ashley Madison dating services exclusively for married or otherwise attached people — brings cheating to a whole new level (http://www.ottawakiosk.com/ashleymadison.html).I’m not feeling too sorry for Kate or anyone else who choose to live their lives on TV and expose their kids to all this.


Leave a Reply

