I hate cell phones

 but for some reason, earlier today I thought I wanted/needed one.  So I started doing some internet research regarding phone plans and within 5 minutes I gave up in frustration.

Reasons why I don’t need a cell phone:

  • I hate talking on the phone already
  • I don’t need to have more expenses
  • what would be the point of having a home phone? people could call Brent on his work cell or me on mine but then… when Bobby’s older, I’d be forced to either let him use my phone or buy him his own cell phone which is probably my worst nightmare.
  • there are only like, two times a year where I say to myself "A cellphone would be handy right now" but not $20 + tax minimum per month
  • I wouldn’t even know where to begin on choosing a phone/plan and would always be wondering if I made the right choice.  That’s right, choosing a cellphone and plan i a way harder choice than getting married or having a kid
  • I don’t want head cancer

On this day:

In 2008 – an prime example of a person being an ass hole
In 2007 – we never ended up going to Halifax. A shame
In 2006 – AND I never had crustless cucumber sandwiches.  This day in history seems to be a let down
In 2005 – yadda

22 Comments on “I hate cell phones”

  1. damedini says:

    Take a friend’s hand-me-down phone when they upgrade, then get a pay as you go plan. No monthly fees and you have it when you need it for emergencies. You only pay for what you use, no need to have it on unless you need to.
    Hae to say though, now that my son’s independant, his having a phone is pretty excellent – I can find him if he’s not where he’s supposed to be (bus late, etc).

    • tianadargent says:

      all the pay as you go plans I’ve seen force you to top up monthly even if you haven’t used up all of the previous month.

      • Does Vodafone exist where you are? I have a prepay plan where the credit doesn’t expire for a year.

      • Does Vodafone exist where you are? I have a prepay plan where the credit doesn’t expire for a year.

      • You should also look at the 7-11 and Petro Canada plans as they are more flexible but harder to get info about and phones since you have to go into a store and most of the clerks don’t really know what they are talking about. More info about the pre-paid companies: http://www.howardforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=326
        The Rogers Pay-as-you-Go plan, you can buy a $100 voucher which will expire after 365 days so that works out to $8.33/month + tax. That is what I do, since I don’t use my phone often, I end up paying around $9/month, some months I use more, some less but since the top-up doesn’t expire for a year you can average you usage out over the whole time. The other top-up cards expire after a month, but the $100 one is good for a year and it lets you pick the All-Day plan ($0.25/min for first 15 minutes a day, then $0.15/min after that).

      • You should also look at the 7-11 and Petro Canada plans as they are more flexible but harder to get info about and phones since you have to go into a store and most of the clerks don’t really know what they are talking about. More info about the pre-paid companies: http://www.howardforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=326
        The Rogers Pay-as-you-Go plan, you can buy a $100 voucher which will expire after 365 days so that works out to $8.33/month + tax. That is what I do, since I don’t use my phone often, I end up paying around $9/month, some months I use more, some less but since the top-up doesn’t expire for a year you can average you usage out over the whole time. The other top-up cards expire after a month, but the $100 one is good for a year and it lets you pick the All-Day plan ($0.25/min for first 15 minutes a day, then $0.15/min after that).

    • tianadargent says:

      all the pay as you go plans I’ve seen force you to top up monthly even if you haven’t used up all of the previous month.

  2. damedini says:

    Take a friend’s hand-me-down phone when they upgrade, then get a pay as you go plan. No monthly fees and you have it when you need it for emergencies. You only pay for what you use, no need to have it on unless you need to.
    Hae to say though, now that my son’s independant, his having a phone is pretty excellent – I can find him if he’s not where he’s supposed to be (bus late, etc).

  3. :O you don’t have a cellphone?
    the idea i guess is that it is meant to replace one’s house phone. it’s something one gets into the flow of i guess…

  4. :O you don’t have a cellphone?
    the idea i guess is that it is meant to replace one’s house phone. it’s something one gets into the flow of i guess…

  5. Anonymous says:

    Phone plans.
    The phone is primitive, like it doesn’t do anything except phoning, no email, no pics etc but 7 eleven has a pay as you go plan where the time lasts a year at a time.
    I hated the monthly roll over crap too but this works for me as I can actually use up the time in somewhere between 9 to 12 months and then refill.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Phone plans.
    The phone is primitive, like it doesn’t do anything except phoning, no email, no pics etc but 7 eleven has a pay as you go plan where the time lasts a year at a time.
    I hated the monthly roll over crap too but this works for me as I can actually use up the time in somewhere between 9 to 12 months and then refill.

  7. Anonymous says:

    7 11
    No the 7 11 phone I’m using is from Canada.
    It doesn’t work if you go to the states though so I’m not sure if that’s a problem for you. Most pay as you go plans won’t work out of the country
    Not sure why I’m anonymous here but I blog as Bandobras.

  8. Anonymous says:

    7 11
    No the 7 11 phone I’m using is from Canada.
    It doesn’t work if you go to the states though so I’m not sure if that’s a problem for you. Most pay as you go plans won’t work out of the country
    Not sure why I’m anonymous here but I blog as Bandobras.


Leave a Reply

