Never Cross a Mama Bear

 At all the play groups we attend, there is a designated area for babies that has carpet and age appropriate toys.  This way the less-mobile babies don’t get knocked around by the kids who can walk, run and be a menace.

So anyways today near the end of playgroup time Bobby was playing with his favorite thing there which is a plastic walled garden with a door that he can crawl in and out of and "plant" vegetables etc.  He was the only baby there.  So this other kid comes around and his mom/caregiver is nowhere to be seen.  He started making grunty noises (although he looked bigger/older than other kids there who can fully talk) showing he wanted to go in the play set.  I told him it was for babies and he should go play with the bigger kids then He just up and used Bobby’s head as leverage to climb over the short wall.  Just as I was about to stop him and scold him he swung the door open a fully smacked Bobby in the face.  Bobby fell over and started to cry.

I seriously wanted to toss that kid but (luckily?) I was too preoccupied with consoling Bobby to do anything about it.  I looked around and didn’t see the mom anywhere.  She had 5 kids there and wasn’t supervising any of them!  I left because my inner rage totally would have gotten me into trouble if I stayed longer.

I am a big believer in the idea of it taking a village.  I always try to be attentive,  fun and nice with children that I interact with because you never know how you might impact their lives and I would much rather be a positive influence than a negative one.  I’m sure you can remember a few people from your childhood with whom you shared a special moment.  Maybe they payed attention to a story you were telling when no one else would. That sort of thing.  But today… this kid… out the window!

On this day:

In 2008 – 
In 2007 – 
In 2006 – 
In 2005 – no sports!

10 Comments on “Never Cross a Mama Bear”

  1. metahara says:

    mmmhmmm- yep
    it happens.
    and it also takes a child to raise a village-
    we go thru and learn things we couldn’t of imagined learning, due solely to parenthood.

  2. metahara says:

    mmmhmmm- yep
    it happens.
    and it also takes a child to raise a village-
    we go thru and learn things we couldn’t of imagined learning, due solely to parenthood.

  3. :O oh my god! that’s horrible! poor Bobby! give him a hug from me! this makes me mad that that happened.

  4. :O oh my god! that’s horrible! poor Bobby! give him a hug from me! this makes me mad that that happened.

  5. Ok, I have no children…but I definitely know I would want to go ask that mother why she wasn’t watching her baby.
    That’s a pet peeve of mine. There is a mother in my neighborhood (a big neighborhood with lots of traffic) who lets her two children roam. I see them walking down the road at least once a week…a road with a huge hill people like to speed down.

  6. Ok, I have no children…but I definitely know I would want to go ask that mother why she wasn’t watching her baby.
    That’s a pet peeve of mine. There is a mother in my neighborhood (a big neighborhood with lots of traffic) who lets her two children roam. I see them walking down the road at least once a week…a road with a huge hill people like to speed down.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Inner rage is never a good thing if it’s about to be released on the world in a bad way… you did the right thing.

  8. Anonymous says:

    Inner rage is never a good thing if it’s about to be released on the world in a bad way… you did the right thing.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Ha! I remember the grunty, head-stepping kid from my play group days.It’s unfortunately a good life lesson for poor Bobby because there are going to be grunty, head-stepping kids in his life from now on. It sucks that you can’t do anything about it. Back in the day you could give that kid’s ear a good tweak and take him over to his mamma and shake your finger at her. Now we just have to smile and put up with it.

  10. Anonymous says:

    Ha! I remember the grunty, head-stepping kid from my play group days.It’s unfortunately a good life lesson for poor Bobby because there are going to be grunty, head-stepping kids in his life from now on. It sucks that you can’t do anything about it. Back in the day you could give that kid’s ear a good tweak and take him over to his mamma and shake your finger at her. Now we just have to smile and put up with it.


Leave a Reply

