Just this thing I noticed…

 Once a week, I bring Bobby to a nearby library for a baby program that involves signing, reading books, playing with puppets and musical instruments.  You need to register and each program runs about a month and a half.  There is a core group of people who are there every week and then there are those you just come once or twice.

Here’s what I have noticed:

When it’s a woman who is there with her child for the first time, she observes the way things go on there, and then goes along with it.
When it’s a man who is there with his child for the first time, he just does whatever the heck he wants, is loud and overbearing the program coordinator as well as everyone else.

What the fuck?

On this day:

In 2008 – 
In 2007 – f-locked
In 2006 – snow!
In 2005 – I find it funny that I no longer test as deficient in B-12 now that I’m a vegetarian…

10 Comments on “Just this thing I noticed…”

  1. metahara says:

    raise your boy to be considerate. a gentle man would never approach a situation in that manner.

  2. metahara says:

    raise your boy to be considerate. a gentle man would never approach a situation in that manner.

  3. Men are largely unaware of social behavioural cues.
    Generally, if it’s not spelled right out, they’re not going to put too much though into it.

  4. Men are largely unaware of social behavioural cues.
    Generally, if it’s not spelled right out, they’re not going to put too much though into it.

  5. Anonymous says:

    I remember the library baby days. I don’t think men are designed for library story hours. They need to be out in the wild throwing their kids down slides and swinging them in trees.

  6. Anonymous says:

    I remember the library baby days. I don’t think men are designed for library story hours. They need to be out in the wild throwing their kids down slides and swinging them in trees.

  7. How many men are you talking about here 1 or 2? We aren’t all like that. Although I typically find whenever I’m at a baby program, I’m usually the only dad there. Some crazy freak of nature has put me in a parent & tot swimming class right now that has only one mom in it and the rest are dads. At first I thought maybe the world was coming to an end, but maybe it is a sign that dads are getting more involved with their kids which is great.
    One thing I have noticed is that since I’m usually the only dad at these baby programs, the moms all group off into cliques and I’m usually stuck by myself (yes I do shower so its not like I smell bad). Even if I say hi or try to start a conversation, most will politely smile back and then continue to ignore us. I’m not sure what everyone is afraid of, my kids are even super-cute too.

    • tianadargent says:

      Although I ‘ve never seen more than one man there at a time, I’m talking about maybe 3 or 4 men who have shown up. There is only one that I’ve seen more than once and he was totally fine. The rest were all no0bs.

    • tianadargent says:

      Although I ‘ve never seen more than one man there at a time, I’m talking about maybe 3 or 4 men who have shown up. There is only one that I’ve seen more than once and he was totally fine. The rest were all no0bs.

  8. How many men are you talking about here 1 or 2? We aren’t all like that. Although I typically find whenever I’m at a baby program, I’m usually the only dad there. Some crazy freak of nature has put me in a parent & tot swimming class right now that has only one mom in it and the rest are dads. At first I thought maybe the world was coming to an end, but maybe it is a sign that dads are getting more involved with their kids which is great.
    One thing I have noticed is that since I’m usually the only dad at these baby programs, the moms all group off into cliques and I’m usually stuck by myself (yes I do shower so its not like I smell bad). Even if I say hi or try to start a conversation, most will politely smile back and then continue to ignore us. I’m not sure what everyone is afraid of, my kids are even super-cute too.


Leave a Reply

