Sometimes paper is better than lap top.

1
2
3

Like a true friend, naughty_bride  called me to help me deal with this crisis.  She told me all about he butt-shaping jeans from Victoria Secret and helped me come up with an actions plan.   She seconded the concept images idea and this morning when I checked my email, she sent me a to-do list of how to start this as well as some of her own inspirational images.

So here is my official plan :

Step One – Assess Current Wardrobe

  • Make 4 piles: clothes to throw out, clothes to give to charity, clothes to keep and clothes to store (aka maternity clothes, until I know for sure whether or not I’ll need them again).
    • Look at the clothes to give away pile. Is there a common theme or quality to them?
    • Look at the clothes to keep pile. Why do I want to keep them? What do I like about them?
  • Organize clothes to keep by season

Step Two – Plan a cohesive look

  • Collect inspirational images of the look I’m going for.
    • Make sure it is cohesive, has longevity and works for my body
    • Start with spring then continue with the rest of the seasons throughout the year.  No need to stress about next winter now.

Step Three – Build a Stylish and Functional Spring Wardrobe (then follow with other seasons later)

  • Shop with a plan in mind
  • Try things on before buying
  • Get basics first then build from them
    • jeans
    • casual/work appropriate dresses
    • versatile purse
    • versatile jacket
    • shoes (I already have these in the bag – unless they don’t fit anymore because of pregnancy!)

That’s it!  How to reinvent your look in 3 easy steps.  This will probably take me about a year and a half as my disposable income is fairly limited what with the not working right now but I feel confident that it’s doable.  I felt so lost before talking with naughty_bride  and now I feel like I have a bit of direction on this INTERNET HUGS.

Now to work on the inspiration!  Feel free to participate by sending pics of looks that YOU think are so totally me (no garfield sweaters please).

On this day:

In 2008 – a quiz
In 2007 – we wanted to get beavertails
In 2006 – I had shaggy hair and was wearing a sweater that will no longer fit over my ta-tas
In 2005 – work praise – f-locked

18 Comments on “Sometimes paper is better than lap top.”

  1. free stuff
    around here there’s a place one can go where you can take up to 14 piece of clothing for free (after looking around for only 10-15 minutes). it’s at the city mission. maybe there’s a place like that where you live? and by picking up some free pieces it will allow you to explore what direction you want to head in with your wardrobe?
    a non-commital kind of experimention.

  2. free stuff
    around here there’s a place one can go where you can take up to 14 piece of clothing for free (after looking around for only 10-15 minutes). it’s at the city mission. maybe there’s a place like that where you live? and by picking up some free pieces it will allow you to explore what direction you want to head in with your wardrobe?
    a non-commital kind of experimention.

  3. metahara says:

    I trained my ass till it became my number one physical “ass”ette
    You can add butt exercises to your daily routine.
    wait till your done nursing for your clothes and hair- it is not that long off and you will change again.
    re arranging furniture and painting a wall or two work for me.
    have you been creating? painting, writing, drawing?

  4. metahara says:

    I trained my ass till it became my number one physical “ass”ette
    You can add butt exercises to your daily routine.
    wait till your done nursing for your clothes and hair- it is not that long off and you will change again.
    re arranging furniture and painting a wall or two work for me.
    have you been creating? painting, writing, drawing?

  5. My hips.. what happened to my hips & bum?? I expected the boob business, but noone told me about the extent of the body changes. I used to be 30 inches around my ribs (like, in bra measurements) and I’m now..34?
    it’s so bizarre how your body shifts and shimmies into motherhood.
    I hate all my jeans, and how my t shirts went from small to large in all the strangest places.I just want a giant, floor length brown cord skirt .
    it’s hard getting used to this new body, when I had just come to be comfortable in my old one. I think it’ll happen, eventually. I hope it helps a bit to know you’ve got company in the adjustment
    ❤
    You have beautiful handwriting, and I like your apple green walls.

  6. My hips.. what happened to my hips & bum?? I expected the boob business, but noone told me about the extent of the body changes. I used to be 30 inches around my ribs (like, in bra measurements) and I’m now..34?
    it’s so bizarre how your body shifts and shimmies into motherhood.
    I hate all my jeans, and how my t shirts went from small to large in all the strangest places.I just want a giant, floor length brown cord skirt .
    it’s hard getting used to this new body, when I had just come to be comfortable in my old one. I think it’ll happen, eventually. I hope it helps a bit to know you’ve got company in the adjustment
    ❤
    You have beautiful handwriting, and I like your apple green walls.

  7. tianadargent says:

    “it’s hard getting used to this new body, when I had just come to be comfortable in my old one”
    This is exactly it.

  8. tianadargent says:

    “it’s hard getting used to this new body, when I had just come to be comfortable in my old one”
    This is exactly it.

  9. Anonymous says:

    I really loved this post. It was so honest. Good luck on your transformation. 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading some more.
    J.

  10. Anonymous says:

    I really loved this post. It was so honest. Good luck on your transformation. 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading some more.
    J.


Leave a Reply

