What a great day!

I was feeling leery about going out with Bobby today because of the work-lunch fiasco on Tuesday.  It was so unlike him!  Was this the new him?  Well I worried for nothing!

My mom came by in the morning with a salted caramel hot chocolate from Starbucks.  Yeah that’s right… Starbucks.  I’ve ended my nearly 10 year boycott.  The only reason for that is proximity.  It’s the closest decent coffee place to my house.  Moving on…. that hot chocolate is better than average sex.  It’s not better than GOOD sex though, so don’t get your hopes up.

The plan was for Bobby to have a nap while I get ready and then we’d head out to the craft sale.  As soon as my mom came over he was not interested in sleeping even though he was clearly tired so he played with grandma for a bit while I got ready (pit on a sweatshirt and jeans and mascara – 5 minutes tops) then I fed him and we left.  He fell asleep in the car in about 5 minutes.

We found a fairly close parking spot so I just carried him in and put him in his carrier once we got in.  I didn’t go to the sale last year but they seemed to have doubled in size since I went 2 years ago which is a cool thing.  The first booth when walking into the larger room had this BEAUTIFUL little owls but since I’m on EI right now I thought spending $30 on myself for an owl decoration right before Christmas to be a little dumb.  I should have asked the woman who made them for her contact info though because I totally want to get one later.  Anybody know who she was?

EDIT:  Thanks to Lana, you can see them here.

I went there looking for something for Brent and I absolutely knew it would be there, since I checked with the maker beforehand.  So I was just looking at the rest of the stuff to see if it would catch my eye.  I saw a circular piece of stained glass with some coloured stripes in the middle that was pretty and would look good hanging in Bobby’s window.  Iread $12 on the tag and said I’d take it… then I realized it ACTUALLY read $72 and I said I would NOT take it.

My mom bought Bobby two pairs of knit booties. Orange ones that fit now and brown ones that will fit later.  They are just typical looking but he needed some. 

We ended the visit with me fussing over which one of the thing to get Brent that I wanted to get (vague enough) so I got two instead of one and I hope he likes them because there were about 12 nice ones to choose from.  I wonder if I can trade one in if he doesn’t like it…. Musat ask Robyn

The whole time Bobby was in his carrier chewing on a strap and looking around.  This is where I start to sound boastfull… I got stopped twice by women to tell me that he is ‘the cutest baby’.  This is not the usual… I’m looking at stuff and someone I’m talking with or asking a question of tells me he is cute.  This was a woman tapping me on the shoulder and saying "Sorry to interrupt, but your baby is really cute"  TWICE!  Not to mention the regular murmers regarding his adorableness.

We went out and decided to hop over to Maxwell’s for some brunch.  We got a booth and bobby lunged for the menu.  I could tell he was hungry so I started nursing him and eer few minutes he would pop off, twist his head around and smile at my mother.  He wouldn’t resume eating until she would acknowledge him, which was a very cute thing.  Then he just hung out in my lap while we ate and he kept trying to grab whatever I was bringing to my mouth.

We went back to the car and he was asleep again in mere minutes.  On the way back to my place we decided to stop off at the mall for a browse.  My mom wanted help picking out a gift for Brent and I had no problem helping.  Then we went into a newish store there that only sells Canadian products (note, the companies are Canadian but some goods are still made in other countries).  The women who were working were super nice and convinced me to buy these shoes.  They’ll fit in a couple months. Then I told them all about my son’s giant cock.

I also got Bobby one of these balls at another store.  It says it’s for ages 3+…. but it’s a giant ball with a small tennis-sized ball wedged into it.  I’m sure it won’t kill him.

When we got home he ate again and took a nap.  He was SO GOOD the entire time out which leads me to believe he either hates my coworkers or mexican food.

Oh and after he woke up he and I spent some time sitting on the floor watching the dogs wrestle and he LOVED it. He was screeching and belly laughing and wanted more until the dogs were just too tired to go on. It was great.

On this day:
In 2007 – was a really cranky day! And they have even MORE processed foods now!  But  still love that store.
In 2006 – I’m the zombie walk champion
In 2005 – I made an ass of myself

21 Comments on “What a great day!”

  1. Anonymous says:

    I’m very curious…what is a salted caramel hot chocolate? I’ve never heard of that before.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I’m very curious…what is a salted caramel hot chocolate? I’ve never heard of that before.

  3. lola_70 says:

    I LOVE this post!

  4. lola_70 says:

    I LOVE this post!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Hey!
    Come join the party!
    You have been invited to The 1st Annual Ottawa Blogger Virtual Christmas Party!
    This virtual event is taking place on December 16th 2008.
    For more information on this event, please visit the http://pleasepickupyoursocks.wordpress.com blog.
    We hope to see you there!
    A & J


Leave a Reply

