I’m just super!

So before I gave birth I heard a lot about this thing called ‘mom guilt’.  I was told that I would always be worrying that I was doing the wrong thing.  I was told that I would perpetually feel bad for falling short. I was told that I would look to other moms and compare myself and feel like I wouldn’t measure up no matter how much I tried.

BUNK

It’s been just over 5 months and so far, I feel like I’m doing not only a good job, but a fantastic job.  The only ‘mistake’ I’ve made so far was this one time when I accidentally elbowed Bobby in the forehead.  We got over it.

I suppose this feeling might change when I’m back at work…

On this day:

In 2007 – I bought a tacky couch on purpose and I felt like shit
In 2005 – Boring stuff

6 Comments on “I’m just super!”

  1. damedini says:

    I didn’t have it when he was a baby. I’m getting some now, when I come home and declare a mom’s tired night and have him make dinner and fend for himself. Happily, he’s perfectly able and even generally pleased about it. Then again, ain’t no way I’m turning out a helpless lad who can’t make his own dinner nor wipe his own bum.

  2. damedini says:

    I didn’t have it when he was a baby. I’m getting some now, when I come home and declare a mom’s tired night and have him make dinner and fend for himself. Happily, he’s perfectly able and even generally pleased about it. Then again, ain’t no way I’m turning out a helpless lad who can’t make his own dinner nor wipe his own bum.

  3. i agree 100% that you are doing such a fantastic job! šŸ™‚

  4. i agree 100% that you are doing such a fantastic job! šŸ™‚

  5. metahara says:

    guilt is useless.
    You’re a solid person. I would not be surprised if you always feel secure in at least the knowledge that you are doing your best.
    No need to feel guilt when you go to work- Boys whose moms work outside their homes become great men as easily, (if not more easily) as boys with stay at homes do.
    Guilt is self serving.
    Reviewing your options and using a critical eye to determine if the way you’re doing things is the best way for your family or not, is intelligent and caring.
    I wondered if the choices I made were the best or not-
    school, home school?
    living in the mountains, in the city?
    etc.
    just as I contemplate a color choice when I am painting- it’s part of being and intelligent person with choices to make.

  6. metahara says:

    guilt is useless.
    You’re a solid person. I would not be surprised if you always feel secure in at least the knowledge that you are doing your best.
    No need to feel guilt when you go to work- Boys whose moms work outside their homes become great men as easily, (if not more easily) as boys with stay at homes do.
    Guilt is self serving.
    Reviewing your options and using a critical eye to determine if the way you’re doing things is the best way for your family or not, is intelligent and caring.
    I wondered if the choices I made were the best or not-
    school, home school?
    living in the mountains, in the city?
    etc.
    just as I contemplate a color choice when I am painting- it’s part of being and intelligent person with choices to make.


Leave a Reply

