Best meal ever!

I am now officially in love with all mushrooms except button mushrooms. I hate those vile beasts! I’ve decided to try and find some yummy mushrooms and make some bruscetta and risotto!!!

Back to the meal… I got mine with the wine pairing (which is 3 half glasses with my meal) plus a champagne cocktail at the start and a port at the end.

I was drunk halfway into my first drink. I obviously am no longer a drinker.

My meal:

Champagne with strawberry liqueur and cointreau
sesame cheese crackers
7 grain roll
Mix of frisée and micro greens, vegetable provençale tartine, goat cheese drizzled with Coudoux oil.
This was an awesome goat cheese and I asked the type so I could buy some but I was drunk and so I forget.  I remember it was from France though.  THis course came with some kind of white wine that I don’t remember.
Olive bread
Two squash velouté, grape and pecan nuts with whisky, dry fruit crisp. The ‘fruit crisp’ was actually chips made from acorn squash and it was awesome. This also came with some kind of white wine that was a little oaky I think. The glass was the size of a swimming pool.
Granité
Sun dried tomato roll
Cassolette of mini vegetables from Guylaine, artichoke and tomatoes confites, asparagus and wild mushroom risotto.
The artichoke and tomato was replaced by chantrelles, porcinis and pied de mouton mushrooms with a butternut squash reduction and I fell in love! This came with some kind of red in a hot-tub sized glass
A small bite of panna cotta and a small bite of pistachio cake
Tatin tart with fresh figs, triangular curdled milk mille feuille, Bourbon vanilla ice cream. The mille feuille was not awesome but the rest was. This came with port
Decaf coffee

I decided we should have two anniversaries per year but I was rebuffed.  Although we decided that if we win the lottery or something, we’d go once  a week, it would probably be a bad idea.  I weighed myself right before leaving and right when I got home to see a difference of 5 lbs yikes!

Tomorrow I’ll be making a hair cut appointment but I have no clue what to get.  Post photos of whickedly cool haircuts appropriate for someone who desn’t have to go in to a work setting for another 8 months.

On this day:

In 2007 – I hung out with naughty_bride and loved every second of it
In 2005 – I get a free hair cut

2 Comments on “Best meal ever!”

  1. That all sounds delicious! I am so glad you like mushrooms now! Kudos to the chef for changing your mind. That is what great cooking is all about.

  2. That all sounds delicious! I am so glad you like mushrooms now! Kudos to the chef for changing your mind. That is what great cooking is all about.


Leave a Reply

