I just don’t get it!

WHY do (many but not all) joggers run on the road instead of the sidewalk? The road is for VEHICLES and going slightly faster than walking does NOT make you one!!!

It is DANGEROUS! Is it really worth various body parts or maybe your life to not be on the sidewalk?

If I was the police I would ticket every single jogger I saw on the road.

On this day:

In 2007 – I gushed about Heroes season 2, which was a disappointing season, but so far season three is OMFG SO GOOD!
I 2006 – nada
In 2005 – I am so creative

12 Comments on “I just don’t get it!”

  1. Anonymous says:

    My wife is a runner and claims that the asphalt on the road is softer then the cement so running on it is safer on her joints. I am skeptical even though I have read this is all of her running magazines. I just don’t see how her 140 pound frame is going to move the asphalt enough that it is going to make a difference.
    Medsker

    • tianadargent says:

      You know what’s unsafe for joints? A car plowing through them.
      In Ottawa (I don’t know where you are from) there are lots of bike paths that joggers can use that are also asphalt.

    • tianadargent says:

      You know what’s unsafe for joints? A car plowing through them.
      In Ottawa (I don’t know where you are from) there are lots of bike paths that joggers can use that are also asphalt.

  2. Anonymous says:

    My wife is a runner and claims that the asphalt on the road is softer then the cement so running on it is safer on her joints. I am skeptical even though I have read this is all of her running magazines. I just don’t see how her 140 pound frame is going to move the asphalt enough that it is going to make a difference.
    Medsker

  3. thebookpile says:

    Is it really worth various body parts or maybe your life to not be on the sidewalk?
    What do you think of cyclists on the road? According to Ontario traffic law, bicycles are considered vehicles and should be on the road, yet they only travel at a fraction of the speed of automobiles. They are roughly the same width as joggers and would suffer the same fate if hit from behind by a car.

    • tianadargent says:

      I’m iffy on cyclists on the road, but they are following the law and joggers are not.
      Personally, I would prefer to bike on the sidewalk in low pedestrian zones because I think that’s safe than biking on the street as long as I pay heed to the pedestrians.

    • tianadargent says:

      I’m iffy on cyclists on the road, but they are following the law and joggers are not.
      Personally, I would prefer to bike on the sidewalk in low pedestrian zones because I think that’s safe than biking on the street as long as I pay heed to the pedestrians.

  4. thebookpile says:

    Is it really worth various body parts or maybe your life to not be on the sidewalk?
    What do you think of cyclists on the road? According to Ontario traffic law, bicycles are considered vehicles and should be on the road, yet they only travel at a fraction of the speed of automobiles. They are roughly the same width as joggers and would suffer the same fate if hit from behind by a car.

  5. Anonymous says:

    street walkers
    Given a chance, in a residential area, I almost always walk on the street and I can understand why people jog on the street… sidewalks have curbs and dips for crosswalks and driveways, which for a runner are great for hyper-extending a knee.
    Actually… I recommend walking in the street to anyone who will listen. Not on busy streets of course, but at night walking in the street makes way more sense. The streetlights on most streets, for example, are there for cars, not to illuminate the sidewalks. For safety reasons walking in the street at night keeps you away from the hedges and trees etcetera… around here not so much from muggers but from skunks.

  6. Anonymous says:

    street walkers
    Given a chance, in a residential area, I almost always walk on the street and I can understand why people jog on the street… sidewalks have curbs and dips for crosswalks and driveways, which for a runner are great for hyper-extending a knee.
    Actually… I recommend walking in the street to anyone who will listen. Not on busy streets of course, but at night walking in the street makes way more sense. The streetlights on most streets, for example, are there for cars, not to illuminate the sidewalks. For safety reasons walking in the street at night keeps you away from the hedges and trees etcetera… around here not so much from muggers but from skunks.

  7. The road is for VEHICLES and going slightly faster than walking does NOT make you one!!!

    ha ha ha!
    if i was a police man i would ticket every moron who pulled his car into the intersection when there’s nowhere to move in front. it blocks traffic and it’s just dumb.

  8. The road is for VEHICLES and going slightly faster than walking does NOT make you one!!!

    ha ha ha!
    if i was a police man i would ticket every moron who pulled his car into the intersection when there’s nowhere to move in front. it blocks traffic and it’s just dumb.


Leave a Reply

